"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Caina's "Mourner" Complete, Tracklisting Revealed

One of the UK’s most promising extreme music prodigies, CA?NA mastermind Andrew Curtis-Brignell, has completed his sophomore album, “Mourner".

Following up his “Some People Fall” debut (which was preceded by two demo tapes released via Drakkar), where Brignell’s bizarre take on raw uneasy avant-garde black metal, which also dabbled within post-rock and shoegaze, took listeners for quite the trip, “Mourner” will present that much more of a challenging venture to undertake. More experimental, surreal, and uneasy, yet more dreamy, going further into the beyond, “Mourner” is an oppressive and challenging listening experience that we are proud to deliver. Still having certain characteristics of its predecessor, “Mourner” sees Brignell continue to tread disjointed black metal ground, but now plays more with his sound palette by incorporating more sounds of 4AD post-rock, shoegaze, neo-folk, acoustic sing-along, and drone into this diverse mix.

The tracklisting for “Mourner” goes as follows:

1. Waves Engulf a Pier
2. Hideous Gnosis
3. The Sleep of Reason
4. Constantine the Blind
5. I Reeled in Heaven
6. Morgawr
7. Requiem for Shattered Timbers
ii)Arc of Piss
iii)Ruined Shore
8. Permaneo Carmen
9. Wormwood Over Albion

Look for “Mourner” to be released sometime late June.

In the meantime, you can check out a sample of ‘Hideous Gnosis’ (along with other Ca?na samples) at Brignell’s myspace page.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Caina's 'Mourner' Complete, Tracklisting Revealed"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.