"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Dark Tranquillity Reveal Fiction Album Details and Song Sample Online

Photo of Dark Tranquillity

Band Photo: Dark Tranquillity (?)

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers DARK TRANQUILLITY triumphantly return with "Fiction" in April 2007, a scorching effort that will undoubtedly add an exhilarating new chapter to the genre's storied history. The album was mixed by the acclaimed Tue Madsen (HIMSA, THE HAUNTED) and encompasses all of the elements on which the band built their career: thought-provoking lyrics, shredding guitar work, captivating melodies and sheer brutality. This offering is perhaps best compared to a modern-day version of the group's revered classics "The Gallery" and "The Mind's I", only with more intensity behind it. The blueprint of melodic death metal is now at your fingertips.

Niklas Sundin (guitars) further describes his thoughts on the new album: "Tue Madsen did a fantastic job with the sound, and the result is diverse and exciting enough to satisfy even the most critical of listeners. The 10 songs are extremely varied and showcase all facets of the D.T. experience while breaking new ground as well as reviving some elements that haven't been featured in D.T. songs since the early years. At the moment, we're putting the finishing touches to the packaging as well as preparing for the recording of the 'Focus Shift' and 'Misery's Crown' promo videos. Directing is once again Roger Johansson, who worked with us on the videos for 'Character'."

DARK TRANQUILLITY holds the esteemed distinction as being one of the bands responsible for founding an entirely new genre of death metal in the early '90s, which came to be known as "the Gothenburg sound." Their previous album, "Character", was hailed by critics and fans alike as the group's most savage and dynamic offering yet. They have solidified their fanbase through numerous tours alongside the likes of such genre titans as KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, KREATOR, IN FLAMES, OPETH and SOILWORK, among others.

In late March 2007, DARK TRANQUILLITY kick off the touring cycle for "Fiction" with a massive co-headlining U.S. run with THE HAUNTED and INTO ETERNITY followed by European summer festivals and a full length tour in autumn, revitalizing the genre they helped to create and further cementing their status as one of the scene's most influential metal bands.

"Fiction" track listing:

01. Nothing To No One
02. The Lesser Faith
03. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive)
04. Blind At Heart
05. Icipher
06. Inside The Particle Storm
07. Empty Me
08. Misery´s Crown
09. Focus Shift
10. The Mundane And The Magic
11. A Closer End (Japan bonus track)
12. Winter Triangle (instrumental) (Australia bonus track)

Listen to the song "Focus Shift" at this location.

The limited album version will include a bonus DVD with live songs, behind-the-scenes footage, last album's "The New Build" promo video and the brand-new "Focus Shift" clip.

Cover artwork was once again created by the band's guitarist Niklas Sundin.

Release dates:

North America: Tuesday, April 17
Sweden: Wednesday, April 18
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux, Italy: Friday, April 20
U.K., France, Spain, Denmark, Norway, Rest Of Europe: Monday, April 23
Finland, Hungary: Wednesday, April 25
Australia, Japan, Rest Of World: To be confirmed

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Dark Tranquillity Reveal Fiction Album Details"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Rollmonkey's avatar


1. Rollmonkey writes:

So I get the album before folks from their home-country do. GO USA (and mexico and canada i guess)!

And yeah. I'm pretty psyched for this too. I'm glad they decided to not name a song "Insignific***." Smart move on their part.

# Jan 31, 2007 @ 5:54 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. ArchEnemy84 writes:

Yeah, that's amazing. Sweden is not the first country to access their new album. Wow. Well, actually, they are touring the U.S. soon, so I guess that's a partial reason. I listened to Focus Shift from the above link. I have to say there is nothing truly exciting in that song. I still love Mikael Stanne's vox, but the guitars and drums are way to mellow for this band. Character was a f***ing amazing album. I just hope this one is as good.

# Jan 31, 2007 @ 7:19 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
B-rad's avatar


3. B-rad writes:

Man, there are so many albums coming out this year that I'm getting. There's albums by Mors Principium Est, Dimmu Borgir, Children Of Bodom, Mudvayne (I think), Arch Enemy and of course Dark Tranquillity.

I'm so excited for all of them.

# Feb 18, 2007 @ 6:44 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.