"some music was meant to stay underground..."

The Accursed Release 'Seasons Of The Scythe' On Halloween

It's very fitting that the extreme metal quintet THE ACCURSED should release their full-length debut, "Seasons of the Scythe", on Halloween. After all, this is a band that signed their recording contract in blood — their own blood. "They really did sign in their own blood," admits Screaming Ferret Wreckords founder Timothy A. Koukos. "I had no clue they were going to do that. Signed it with a pen then pulled out knives and started cutting their hands."

Hailing from New Bedford, Massachusetts, THE ACCURSED is comprised of Jonathan Helme on vocals, Helme's brother Chris on drums, guitarists Tim Giblin and Loki, and bassist George Pacheco. And although "Scythe" is the group's first full-length, THE ACCURSED have already shared the stage with some of metal's most renowned names — BEHEMOTH, NILE, BEYOND THE EMBRACE, BODY COUNT, NUCLEAR ASSAULT and M.O.D.

While such song titles as "Slaughter of the Gods", "Land of the Dead", and "I Am Famine" show that THE ACCURSED posses a serious dark streak, singer Helme wants fans to have fun on their forthcoming supporting tour. "When we play live, I want to see old-style circle pits. If people want to get in the pit to have a good time, they should be able to. Too many people get seriously hurt at shows now. It's like they forgot how to dance right."

"Seasons of the Scythe" track listing:

01. Deities and Demigods/Sawtoothsmile
02. Seasons Of The Scythe
03. Fire Of 1000 Cries
04. I Am Famine
05. Aftermath Of Sorrow
06. The Rider
07. Land Of The Dead
08. Slaughter Of The Gods
09. Cold Is The Grave
10. Funeral March
11. The Black Thrash
12. Armageddon Eulogy

Live dates include:

Oct. 27 - Aurora - Taunton, MA
Oct. 29 - The Compound - Fitchburg, MA
Nov. 01 - The Dover Brickhouse - Dover, NH
Nov. 05 - Club 590 - Hamlin, PA
Nov. 09 - Konover Great Room on the University of Hartford Campus - West Hartford
Nov. 11 - Skybar - Somerville, MA
Nov. 18 - The Log Cabin - Manchester, NJ

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "The Accursed Release Debut Album on Halloween"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.