"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Voivod Launch Exclusive 'Making Of' 'Katorz' Trailer On MP3.com

Canada's pioneering metal band VOIVOD has teamed up with MP3.com to host a five-minute trailer about the making of the band's much-anticipated new album "Katorz", set for release in North America on July 25 via The End Records.

The five-minute trailer — containing footage from a documentary in the works about the life of VOIVOD guitarist Denis "Piggy" D'Amour — was assembled and directed by Canadian documentary filmmaker Sam Dunn, whose stellar "Metal: A Headbanger's Journey" film includes the last-known filmed interview with Piggy. See Sam's travel journal at www.metalhistory.com to read his comments on meeting and filming VOIVOD. It contains exclusive footage of the recording process of "Katorz" and interview segments with drummer Michel Langevin, singer Denis Belanger, bassist Jason Newsted and producer Glen Robinson (ANNIHILATOR, VOIVOD's "Nothingface"). Revealed is how the demo tracks from Denis D'Amour — guitar parts that guitarist Piggy had finished before his untimely death in August 2005 — were re-amped to form the foundation of this new record.

As of Wednesday May 17, 2006, fans can check out the entire trailer here. The cover artwork for the CD can be seen here.

About the artwork for "Katorz", Langevin (who creates all the artwork for VOIVOD) commented: "Most people will probably expect the usual strange VOIVOD creature on the cover, but the truth is I really wasn't in the right mood to create monsters this time around. Instead, out of respect for Piggy, I decided to design something more band-oriented, with encouragements from Snake and Jason. For the CD itself, we used the title handwritten by Piggy. It was scanned from one of the ProTools CDs. For the booklet, I used many sketches done while listening to the demos over the last couple of years. The idea was to keep it consistent with the album, since a lot of it was pulled from demos. We wanted to keep the art raw and honest, much like the music of 'Katorz'."

"Katorz" track listing:

01. The Getaway
02. Dognation
03. Mr. Clean
04. After All
05. Odds & Frauds
06. Red My Mind
07. Silly Clones
08. No Angel
09. The X-Stream (mp3)
10. Polaroids

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Voivod 'Making Of' 'Katorz' Trailer Online"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.