"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Sovereign Council To Release New EP "World On Fire" In May

From headlining performances as well as supporting slots for some of the biggest bands in metal, Ottawa, Canada’s Sovereign Council have hit the ground running and haven’t stopped since they formed in 2012. They have released two full-length albums to date "New Reign" (2013) and "Laniakea" (2015) and now they have a fresh new EP "World On Fire" for listeners and ahead of its release, the band is offering up the title track as a single accompanied with a music video. The majority of the EP comes from vocalist Lisa Thompson’s personal experiences and this five-song progressive, symphonic, and power metal-influenced record will take listeners through a range of emotions and imagery ranging from inspiring, motivational lyrics to darker subject matter. The band shares their thoughts on the single:

"This song was chosen as a single because everyone in the band felt it to be one of the stronger songs on this release. It has an edge to it while still being very accessible to a wider audience compared to our previous releases. Each one of us takes a different meaning from the song itself and we hope that our listeners will enjoy it just as much as we do. We simply want people to enjoy the ride."

Sovereign Council got together through a shared love of music and the emotional release that comes with writing, recording, and performing. As a band, they have evolved drastically since being first formed and continue to change each time they sit down to write music. They are proud of their new sound and look forward to their continued growth and change.

The EP will be released on May 5th.

You can watch the music video for the title track, which premiered at Brave Words below.


1. World On Fire
2. The Wait
3. Aberration
4. Breathe You In
5. Of The Ashes

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Sovereign Council To Release New EP In May"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.