"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Katatonia To Release New Album "City Burials" In April; Posts New Song "Lacquer" Online

Photo of Katatonia

Band Photo: Katatonia (?)

Sweden's Katatonia will release their new album, "City Burials," on April 24 via Peaceville Records. Listen to the first single, "Lacquer", below.

“In days and nights of black and silver, the dead end king will come. From pieces of broken mirrors there will be a crown bestowed upon his head. In reflections of shattered glass not only the seasons will turn, but also the change disguised by the lapse of time. His mind will have to come to bear the weight of everything that was left behind and forgotten. Archiving the inaccessible. Celebrating the abandoned and mourning the destroyed. The city burials.” - Guitarist Anders Nyström

With the winds of a new direction steering the band on their latest journey, "City Burials" stands as Katatonia’s new triumph of deep & enigmatic progressive rock - the fruits of a rejuvenating and profound chapter in the band’s legacy; a catalyst for its creators, with a collection of moments constructed out of the fragments of an ever-evolving life. Compiled into one of their most important modern works and statements to date, the finely-honed instrumentation provides a multi-textured backdrop with the voice of Jonas Renkse guiding us through these latest trials of loss and ruin.

"City Burials" is an album that sees the band reclaim part of their heavy metal roots, via several moments of exuberant, old school classicism, deftly woven into these new songs’ kaleidoscopic fabric.

"City Burials" will be released on CD, deluxe mediabook CD with bonus tracks, black and coloured vinyl LPs with bonus track and digitally (digital pre-orders receive "Lacquer" as an instant download).


1. Heart Set To Divide
2. Behind The Blood
3. Lacquer
4. Rein
5. The Winter Of Our Passing
6. Vanishers
7. City Glaciers
8. Flicker
9. Lachesis
10. Neon Epitaph
11. Untrodden

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Katatonia To Release New Album In April"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

coldiem's avatar


1. coldiem writes:

"City Burials" is an album that sees the band reclaim part of their heavy metal roots.

You'd think, if that were the case, they might have lead with a song that at least had an instrument or two in it.

I hope I'm wrong but 'Lacquer' does not give me high hopes that I will enjoy this album.

# Jan 30, 2020 @ 5:02 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
CorpusUpir's avatar


2. CorpusUpir writes:

If they are saying they are reclaiming their heavy metal roots and this song is what the album has in store then it is fitting it is getting released in April.

# Feb 10, 2020 @ 5:25 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
3. rk writes:

I saw this band years back in indy opening up for opeth. bored me to tears. just not my thing I quess

# Feb 13, 2020 @ 1:10 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

Before you comment, please note:

Get your own Avatar

Get an avatar, dude!

1. Sign up for an account here.
2. Register on Gravatar.com with the same email & upload an avatar.
3. Wait 24-48 hours for your avatar to appear on Metalunderground.com.

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
    • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will be removed.
    • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.
    • Please ignore spammers, as their posts will be removed.
  • HTML markup will be removed and URLs will not be hyperlinked, to discourage comment spam/abuse.
Post Your Comment