"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Voivod Posts New Video, "Obsolete Beings" Online

Canadian progressive thrash metal legends Voivod has premiered a new video online for the song, "Obsolete Beings." You can check it out below. This is the first song released from their forthcoming new album, "The Wake," which will be released through Century Media Records on September 21st and is their first full length album of new material since 2013's, "Target Earth."

The album’s standard tracklisting is as follows:

1. Obsolete Beings
2. The End Of Dormancy
3. Orb Confusion
4. Iconspiracy
5. Spherical Perspective
6. Event Horizon
7. Always Moving
8. Sonic Mycelium

Next to a standard jewelcase CD edition and a digital album release, "The Wake" will also be available as limited 2CD Mediabook edition with a bonus disc of 11 tracks featuring the five songs off 2016’s Post Society EP as well six live tracks from 2018’s 70000 Tons Of Metal cruise, alternate artwork, an expanded booklet of 32 pages and a set of three stickers.

This is the tracklisting for that edition’s bonus disc:

Post Society EP:
1. Post Society
2. Forever Mountain
3. Fall
4. We Are Connected
5. Silver Machine
Live at 70000 Tons Of Metal Cruise 2018:
6. Inner Combustion (Live 2018)
7. Order Of The Blackguards (Live 2018)
8. Psychic Vacuum (Live 2018)
9. Lost Machine (Live 2018)$
10. Fall (Live 2018)
11. Voivod (Live 2018)

The 2LP release of The Wake will come on 180gr. vinyl with an etching design on Side D, packaged in a gatefold sleeve and with a double-sided poster. Next to standard black vinyl, the album will also be available in the following limited coloured editions:

- Black 2LP: Unlimited
- Pink 2LP: 100x copies / CM Webshop Europe
- White 2LP: 200x copies / CM Webshop Europe
- Red 2LP: 300x copies / CM Distro Europe
- Silver 2LP: 200x copies / Nuclear Blast
- Golden 2LP: 200x copies / Season Of Mist
- Transp. sun yellow 2LP: 100x copies / CM Webshop USA

And last but not least, Voivod are also making a collectible 7” EP available on August 31st , for the beginning of their European touring activities and before the album’s street date. The 7” EP for the album track “Always Moving” will feature “Order Of The Blackguards (Live 2018)” as the B-Side and is limited to a total of 1,000 copies, available in the following editions:

- Black 7Inch: 500x copies / CM Distro Europe
- Lilac 7Inch: 100x copies / CM Webshop Europe
- Clear 7Inch: 200x copies / CM Distro Europe
- Transp. red 7Inch: 200x / Band edition on tour

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Voivod Posts New Video Online"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. albert xxx writes:

cant wait for new album.

# Jul 20, 2018 @ 11:47 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.