"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Debut Full Length "Hreilia" Detailed By Tongues

Danish black/death metal act Tongues will release the debut full length album "Hreilia" on December 8th via I, Voidhanger Records.

Tongues debuted in 2014 under the flag of I, Voidhanger Records with "Thelésis Ignis," a portentous 35-minute long EP which earned them the praises from the underground metal aficionados. Apparently swallowed by the shadows right after that promising release, Tongues has simply kept a low profile and concentrated for 3 long years on the second chapter of the doomed spiritual journey. That journey spawned "Hreilia," a new and exciting example of Tongues' audacious synthesis of black, death and doom metal, propelled by fiery riffs, magnetic melodies and mystical atmospheres.

Enshrouded like its predecessor in an esoteric dark aura and graced by an apocalyptic cover painting by vocalist A. Lovmand, "Hreilia" delves even deeper into the realms of subconscious. "The underlying concept of the album was inspired by a dream; that's where the word 'Hreilia' comes from," confirms drummer and lyricist C. Qvortrup. "That word held a significant spiritual value within the context of that dream. It symbolized a profound spiritual disappointment...a nightmare."

Tongues' pessimistic approach to the new album is quite evident even during its most aggressive moments, when the inner fire that characterized the previous EP bursts out nervously from the articulated structures of "Grove Of Mithridate" and "Theophagous Wounds Of Earth," two examples of the band's trademark style, hanging in the balance between utmost aggression and psychedelic meditation. As the album progresses, the melodies become slowly - yet steadily - more depressive and defeated, 'till Tongues' ferocious inner struggle concludes and gives way to sadness and disillusionment.

The track list for "Hreilia" is:

1. Perennial Waves
2. Theophagous Wounds of Earth
3. Interlude
4. ...and the Ever Watchful Clouds
5. Grove of Mithridate
6. Acumen Numinous
7. Hreilia

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Tongues To Release Debut Full Length 'Hreilia'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.