"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Debut Full Length Album "Weltgeist Corrupted" Announced By Blackwater

German brutal death/black metal act Blackwater delivers a punishing salvo of multi-disciplinary blasting death metal on the debut release "Weltgeist Corrupted." The debut full length album drops on November 10th via Wooaaargh Records (preorder here).

Fusing sounds from grindcore, slam and black metal into a clean contemporary death metal sound, crossing between the hyper blasting, gutteral voiced tones of Cattle Decapitation and the epic, lingering chord progressions of bands like Dark Funeral - this describes what you should expect from Blackwater.

The band wears the air of a seasoned veteran here, with extremely competent and confident performances in both the instrumentals and vocals. The drums are supremely intense throughout the record, with constant ear-ripping blastbeats and furious double bass underpinning the whirring guitars and the classic, metallic clank of the bass. None of the nine tracks have any time to waste, as in another nod to their grind influence only one track exceeds the three minute mark. These are condensed prime cuts of meaty brutal death metal, all fat and repitition trimmed away, leaving a core of prime, bleeding aural destruction.

The art on this release was provided by the inimitable Dylan Garrett Smith, providing his usual high quality monochrome ink work, the stark and direct nature of which reflects perfectly Blackwater's musical intent. This band seem sure to go from strength to strength on the back of this release, look for them in Europe in the coming year!

The track listing is:

1. Incentives For Cruelty
2. Weltgeist Corrupted
3. Pack
4. Northern Discomfort
5. Conspiracy Terrorist
6. Illusion
7. Of Behemoth And Leviathan
8. Free From Sin
9. Clonal Expansion

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Blackwater To Release Debut Full Length Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.