"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Song "The Grand Berator Walks Amongst The Hall Of Misery" Streaming From Cryptic Fog

Indiana death metal cult Cryptic Fog premiered the new track "The Grand Berator Walks Amongst the Hall of Misery" at NoCleanSinging over at this location. The track hails from the band's highly anticipated debut album "Staring Through the Veil," set for international release on October 27th via Blood Harvest Records.

Hailing from the American Midwest, Cryptic Fog is one of the death metal underground's true, as-yet-discovered gems. To date, the band have only a demo to its name, from the very beginnings in 2009, but the band has been patient and plying away at its trade to craft to twisted majesty of "Staring Through the Veil." Based around the songwriting duo of guitarist/bassist Dave Bennett and drummer Dan Klein, with Klein handling all vocals, together the band has delivered a work that ably balances aggression and atmosphere, performance and production.

While grounded firmly in the long-running traditions of death metal on both sides of the Atlantic - thus, Tampa as much as Stockholm - Cryptic Fog isn't afraid to blacken to a crisp the percolating compositions, which explode and retract and then twist further, only to explode into another angle, always offering the listener some new diabolical construct to warp the mind. And yet, for however serpentine the five songs comprising "Staring Through the Veil" may be, the band manages to skillfully revisit and reiterate motifs, making the 46-minute album truly a journey but, above all, a highly memorable one. And that's to say nothing of the gleaming-yet-grimy production - as clear and precise as the playing, but maintaining the same gnarliness that underpins the album's lyrical themes.

While the band seeks to eventually have a working live lineup, Cryptic Fog has at least managed to deliver a work that will stand the test of time, as a monument to the boundless power and imagination as the death metal art form. Begin "Staring Through the Veil" and take your first steps toward an unforgettable journey!

The track listing for the album is:

1. The Grand Berator Walks Amongst the Hall of Misery
2. Cast Into the Ghastly Pits of Execration
3. Cursed Oil Upon the Abhorrent Idols of Man
4. Eternal Internment of the Prolific Paradigm; Staring Through the Veil of Aberration
5. Cleansed by the Black Flame of Absolution

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Cryptic Fog Streams New Song From Debut Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

Before you comment, please note:

Get your own Avatar

Get an avatar, dude!

1. Sign up for an account here.
2. Register on Gravatar.com with the same email & upload an avatar.
3. Wait 24-48 hours for your avatar to appear on Metalunderground.com.

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
    • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will be removed.
    • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.
    • Please ignore spammers, as their posts will be removed.
  • HTML markup will be removed and URLs will not be hyperlinked, to discourage comment spam/abuse.
Post Your Comment