"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Lyric Video For New Song "Granted Indulgence" Available From Abhorrent Decimation

U.K. based extreme death metal group Abhorrent Decimation will release the upcoming dynamic, cutting edge modern death metal album "The Pardoner" on July 28th via Prosthetic Records. Pre-orders are available now via this location.

Following up to the release of the music video for "Conspire," Abhorrent Decimation just dropped the new track, "Granted Indulgence" via lyric video which is available in the player below.

Conceptually, the new album is an in-depth exploration into "The Pardoner", English poet Geoffrey Chaucer's most depraved and deceitful character from The Canterbury Tales. "The Pardoner" is a religious fraud and hypocrite who preaches against the love of greed, yet whose own love of wealth enabled him to profit off the sins of others. He claimed to work on behalf of the clergy, selling spiritual forgiveness for one's sins in the form of his pardons, which included forged "official letters" from high ranking church officials absolving one of their sins and bones and crystals blessed with healing powers. In Chaucer's story, "The Pardoner" tells a harrowing tale of three men whose materialism becomes the death of them.

Vocalist Ashley Scott commented about the new track: "We are really pleased with how this one came out. 'Granted Indulgence' is such a pivotal point in the story too, so it was really important to us that it stood out. In the story, 'Granted Indulgence' is the point at which our three men take to the woods in search of 'Death.' A right horrible git, who has taken the lives of men, women and children in their village. Instead of finding 'Death' in the deep dark woods, they find a sea of treasure. It is at this point, the three men, so overwhelmed at this life changing find, they begin to conspire against one another."

"The Pardoner" was recorded, mixed and mastered by bassist David Archer at Audio Empire. The intricate artwork for The Pardoner was created by German illustrator Karmazid, based on a visual concept by Vocalist Ashley Scott.

The track listing for "The Pardoner" is:

1. Soothsayer
2. Heretic Sacrifice
3. Votive Offerings
4. Granted Indulgence
5. Black Candle Gathering
6. Conspire (see video clip here)
7. A Glass Coffin Burial
8. The Scythe in the Dark
9. Host
10. The Pardoner

Check out "Granted Indulgence" here:

Check out Abhorrent Decimation on the following upcoming tour dates:

29/07/17 LONDON The Unicorn (LAUNCH PARTY)
10/08/17 LONDON The Underworld (w/WHITECHAPEL)
23/09/17 LEEDS Temple Of Boom UK SLAM FEST
07/10/17 BRIGHTON Mammothfest
20/10/17 GLASGOW TBA
31/10/17 YORK The Fulford Arms
05/11/17 LONDON Boston Music Rooms
17/02/17 CARDIFF ChaosFestival

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Abhorrent Decimation Posts New Song"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

Before you comment, please note:

Get your own Avatar

Get an avatar, dude!

1. Sign up for an account here.
2. Register on Gravatar.com with the same email & upload an avatar.
3. Wait 24-48 hours for your avatar to appear on Metalunderground.com.

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
    • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will be removed.
    • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.
    • Please ignore spammers, as their posts will be removed.
  • HTML markup will be removed and URLs will not be hyperlinked, to discourage comment spam/abuse.
Post Your Comment