"some music was meant to stay underground..."

In The Presence Of Wolves Announces New EP "Of Two Minds"

Philadelphia-native group In The Presence Of Wolves rattled the east coast metal scene with 2015 full-length release, "Thalassas," deftly mixing a bevy of classic progressive rock, modern prog-metal, experimental, post-hardcore and jazz influences.

In The Presence Of Wolves further improves upon that addictive sonic blend with upcoming EP, "Of Two Minds, Stages 1-2: The Ape and The Cage," a conceptual offering due out June 30th, 2017.

"Of Two Minds..." is available for pre-order now via Bandcamp and you can take a listen to first single, "The One Who Fell To Earth," in the palyer below.

The release shares ITPOW's personal confrontations with mental illness, emotional struggles, and the five stages of grief. The EP tells the story of twin brothers, one with paranoid schizophrenia and one without. The sane brother deals with the first two stages of grief as he investigates the reasons behind his twin taking his own life.

At the helm on "Of Two Minds..." was producer Kevin Antreassian of Backroom Studios, otherwise recognized as guitarist for kings of metallic chaos, Dillinger Escape Plan. The EP was mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music.

"This EP feels like a natural evolution of the band," says guitarist Chris Capitanio."Our live show has grown more aggressive and our music has too. We still try to incorporate the dynamics and odd time signatures that we love and are known for, but it's a little heavier this time around."

"Working directly with Dillinger Escape Plan's Kevin Antreassian on the record definitely inspired a heavier edge to the songs. This new album is more focused and definitely has a lot more to say," adds vocalist and bassist Vini Stamato."We added a lot more to our existing traditional progressive influences and it provided us with an incredibly freeing writing experience."

1. As We Speak Pt. 1
2. The One Who Fell to Earth
3. White Noise
4. The Ape and the Cage
5. M.U.A. (Manipulation Under Anesthesia)

Capitanio adds, "This EP is the first in a series of conceptual releases. When we started writing, we were all going through a lot of negative things in our personal lives-several close family deaths, cancer scares, breakups-it seemed like it was all happening at once. We came up with the idea of basing the record on the five stages of grief and everything just fell into place."

"In addition to our own experiences, the lyrical content is somewhat inspired by a documentary I once watched about David Bowie and his family's history of paranoid schizophrenia," continues Stamato. "I was actually already writing this EP before his passing, and during that process, I remembered that documentary and re-watched it for inspiration. I wouldn't go as far as saying this EP is based on Bowie or the documentary, nor are we interested in capitalizing on the Bowie legacy, but the film definitely taught me a lot about the subject matter, regardless."

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "In The Presence Of Wolves Announces New EP"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.