"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Enter "The Garden Of Earthly Delights" With New Song Streaming From Apocalypse Orchestra

Photo of Apocalypse Orchestra

Band Photo: Apocalypse Orchestra (?)

Swedish medieval metal act Apocalypse Orchestra teamed up with MetalUnderground.com for the premiere of the new song "The Garden of Earthly Delights." The track is the first full song the band has released and it will appear on the upcoming debut full length album "The End is Nigh," which is set to drop via Despotz Records on May 12th.

Standing with one leg in medieval times and the other in modern metal, Apocalypse Orchestra weaves a own special tapestry of music. The tones of the hurdy gurdy and the bagpipe entwines the heavy guitars and music separated by over 800 years meet.

The band was formed by musical partners in crime Mikael and Erik based in Gävle, Sweden. Inspired by a love for both folk music and slow metal, the duo decided to combine the two. With a foundation of original music and lyrics but also incorporating melodies from as far back as the 11th century, the goal was to create a musical homage to a era long since gone.

The songs on the debut release tell of flagellants, plague doctors, tales of hell, the meaninglessness of war and of suffering; they are all chapters in the band's grimoire. To balance it out, Apocalypse Orchestra also shines a light on medieval art, science and enlightenment.

When several songs had been composed, the band was completed with the addition of Jonas, Rikard and Andreas. The Orchestra has since played live on many occasions and has been seen at both clubs and festivals, as well as gigs with the Gävle Symphonic Orchestra.

Don't be fooled though, Apocalypse Orchestra looks forward as well as inward. The band seeks answers to some of history’s big questions: How did people find meaning and momentum? How did they find joy in life when two out of three died from the black death? Was there happiness under the heavy yokes of faith, and what was the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

The track listing for "The End is Nigh" is:

1. The Garden of Earthly Delights
2. Pyre
3. Flagellants' Song
4. Exhale
5. Theatre of War
6. The Great Mortality
7. To Embark
8. Here Be Monsters

MetalUnderground.com is proud to bring you into "The Garden of Earthly Delights":

Apocalypse Orchestra is:

Andreas Skoglund – Drums and percussions, backing vocals
Jonas Lindh – Guitars, backing vocals
Mikael Lindström – Hurdy gurdy, bagpipes, rauschpfeife, backing vocals
Rikard Jansson – Bass, backing vocals
Erik Larsson – Guitars, mandola, cittern, rauschpfeife, vocals

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Apocalypse Orchestra Premieres New Song"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.