"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Date For Sophomore LP "The Murky Black Of Eternal Night" Set By Pyriphlegethon

Today, Iron Bonehead Productions set April 14th as the international release date for Pyriphlegethon's highly anticipated second album, "The Murky Black of Eternal Night," on vinyl LP format.

At the end of 2015, Iron Bonehead released this Dutch cult's debut album, "Night of Consecration," on vinyl and largely introduced the name Pyriphlegethon to the international underground. However, a new name it might've been, but Pyriphlegethon was actually yet another project of the insanely prolific Mories, who's widely known for Gnaw Their Tongues but also such projects as De Magia Veterum and Cloak of Altering. With "Night of Consecration," this was Mories at this most traditionally black metal, and it indeed bore his special, idiosyncratic touch.

But, with "The Murky Black of Eternal Night," Mories takes Pyriphlegethon into deeper, darker waters of spellbinding, pitch-BLACK metal. Ever aptly titled, "The Murky Black of Eternal Night" is a a spiritual and even virtual quagmire of eldritch energies, spectral and distant but equally physical in its thrust. Whereas the comparatively more martial "Night of Consecration" emitted a strangely anthemic aspect, tethered as it was to first-wave black metal, "The Murky Black of Eternal Night" wanders down different corridors, opening up unknown spaces within the still-scabrously raw Pyriphlegethon aesthetic and layering mystical synths atop more often than not.

Likewise, at a slightly longer length than its full-length predecessor, this second album in its similarly 10-track structure portrays a more varied songcraft, ranging bestial blasts to strangely soothing soundscapes. The sum effect is not unlike a fever dream guided by the most subtle of magick - and a deeper penetration into the listener's subconscious. Plunge into "The Murky Black of Eternal Night"!

Take the first plunge with the track "The Serpent's Tongue" in the player below. The artwork and track listing are as follows:

1. Curse Of The Old Coffin
2. Monument Of Death
3. Funeral Bells
4. The Serpent's Tongue
5. Summoning Ancient Evil
6. Return To The Tomb
7. The Murky Black Of Eternal Night
8. Cursed Blood
9. The Coldest Grave
10. Night On The Black Mountain

Check out "The Serpent's Tongue" here:

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Pyriphlegethon Sets Date For Sophomore LP"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.