"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Seven Nines And Tens Premieres "Live at the Smilin' Buddha Cabaret"

Photo of Seven Nines and Tens

Band Photo: Seven Nines and Tens (?)

Back this summer (oh man, remember summer and not a wasteland of endless 2016 winter?) we teamed up again with the ever-awesome Seven Nines And Tens to premiere latest album "Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Slums."

Now that a few months have gone by, this indie post-rock/metal crew has a new album prepped for release and we have the distinct pleasure of bringing it to you first!

This time the Vanvoucver-based lads are dropping a live offering titled "Live at the Smilin' Buddha Cabaret" and seeing release via Dullest Records. You can stream all five tracks below, and the following press release was also issued:

Saturday November 5th, 2016. 4 bands, 1 stage (a quarter pipe skateboard ramp), and a gigantic cube van rental. A live performance beneath a roof that has witnessed immeasurable legend since the fifties. The Smilin' Buddha Cabaret served as a hub for local musicians and touring acts alike from its beginning until the mid nineties when it closed it's doors. It has since been resurrected under the moniker "The SBC restaurant" and continued its legacy of all things related to the arts and skateboarding.

Vancouver band Seven Nines & Tens was in the midst of wrapping up a year that included festival appearances, a critically acclaimed new album released by Dullest records and distributed by Season of Mist, being named one of the best bands by local bible the Georgia Straight, a longlist nomination for Post Rock album of the year by the Facebook Post Rock community, and performances alongside the likes of Sumac, Baptists, If These Trees Could Talk, Spotlights, Bosse De Neige, So Hideous, Blessed, Minus the Bear, and This Will Destroy You.

“Live at the Smilin’ Buddha Cabaret” 4 musicians, 3 amps, 2 guitars, 1 bass, and a drum kit. This live performance recording has not been altered or edited.

The complete "Live at the Smilin' Buddha Cabaret" track listing is as follows:

1. Constants and Axioms 05:23
2. Metropolis Noir - Rigs 13:41
3. Rave Up 06:11
4. Kemptville 02:55
5. I Come From Downtown 06:30

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

You can get related band news and info in the sidebar and on the respective band pages.

0 Comments on "Seven Nines And Tens Premieres New Live Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

Before you comment, please note:

Get your own Avatar

Get an avatar, dude!

1. Sign up for an account here.
2. Register on Gravatar.com with the same email & upload an avatar.
3. Wait 24-48 hours for your avatar to appear on Metalunderground.com.

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
    • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will be removed.
    • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.
    • Please ignore spammers, as their posts will be removed.
  • HTML markup will be removed and URLs will not be hyperlinked, to discourage comment spam/abuse.
Post Your Comment