"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Anciients Streaming Full "Voice Of The Void" Album

Vancouver's Anciients is now streaming all of forthcoming album "Voice of the Void" in the YouTube playlist available below. Regarding the album, guitarist/vocalist Kenneth Cook comments:

"This record includes some of our heaviest music, and darkest themes to date. We traveled a bit further from some of the classic rock elements that were throughout our previous record , and focused a bit more on the metal aspects of our sound this time around. I can speak for all of us when I say this record is something we are very stoked on, and we couldn't be happier with how the final product turned out. I think we have upped the ante in a lot of ways when compared to Heart of Oak. The overall sound quality and recording of 'Voice of the Void' turned out amazing ! I think this record compliments our previous work quite well. We can't wait to hit the road and share this new material with our fans in a live setting."

Guitarist Chris Dyck continues: "'Voice of the Void' for me, is the logical progression musically and lyrically from Heart of Oak. It goes further in each direction we explored on the debut; heavy parts are heavier, fast parts are faster and so forth. In terms of theme/lyrics. this record is far more cynical and less hopeful than the debut. It metaphorically addresses some life choices/paths etc and what we see happening in the world. Its a darker and more pissed off album. I feel like we have hit our stride and I'm stoked as hell to get on the road and play these songs live!"

The album will be released on October 14th worldwide through Season Of Mist and was recorded by Jesse Gander at Rain City Recordings. The full track listing is:

1. Following the Voice
2. Buried in Sand
3. Worshipper
4. Pentacle
5. Descending
6. Ibex Eye
7. My Home, My Gallows
8. Serpents
9. Incantations

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Anciients Streaming Full New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Drum_Junkie's avatar


1. Drum_Junkie writes:

Very good follow-up to Heart of Oak. The clean vocals are a great counter balance to the excellent growls and screams. The drums have a natural sound to them some great extended fills. Excellent guitar harmonies and pounding riffs. For fans of Mastodon and old Opeth, I highly recommend it.

# Oct 5, 2016 @ 1:08 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.