"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


The Music Video For New Song "The Fog" Premiered By Imminent Sonic Destruction

Photo of Imminent Sonic Destruction

Band Photo: Imminent Sonic Destruction (?)

U.S. progressive metal act Imminent Sonic Destruction teamed up with Metal Underground.com to premiere the music video for the new song "The Fog." The song is taken from the brand new album "Triumphia," which is is set to drop on September 2nd, 2016 via Luxor Records.

Detroit based Imminent Sonic Destruction was formed in 2008 during an unexpected lunar eclipse, which wiped out vast swaths of humanity and ushered in the so-called new age of progressive super metal. Maybe you remember. It was a Tuesday.

Even though some of that is made up, the band was initially formed around the strong songwriting of guitarist/vocalist Tony Piccoli, and consists of Pat DeLeon (drums), Pete Hopersberger (keyboards/vocals), Bryan Paxton (bass) and Scott Thompson (guitar/vocals). Imminent Sonic Destruction’s sound is a satisfying blend of styles, at times melodic, complex, epic and crushingly heavy, drawing on the members’ various influences, which cover the full spectrum of prog, rock, and metal.

Imminent Sonic Destruction recorded and released the debut full-length CD, "Recurring Themes," in 2012 to critical acclaim. Based on the strength of that album and an energetic live show, the band went on to tour across North America with giants Pain of Salvation and Fates Warning, among others.

In between tours, the band spent time excitedly writing and demoing a diverse collection of songs. These demos led to label interest and the subsequent signing a record deal, which brings Imminent Sonic Destruction to 2016, and the announcement of "Triumphia," an ambitious concept album featuring over 60 minutes of music, including the 22+ minute epic “Arborous Calm.” Triumphia features artwork by acclaimed artist Travis Smith.

The track listing for "Triumphia" is:

1. The Crashing Waves
2. Something in the Way
3. The Fog
4. Sleepless
5. Lake of Fire
6. The Knife
7. Arborous Calm

As for the video clip for "The Fog" keyboardist Pete Hopersberger told Metal Underground.com: "Shooting this was an absolute blast. There are so many little things to look for, easter eggs and things that will crack people up. It's really a short film, and I'm thrilled with how it came out. Several of our friends put a lot of hard work into the details of this video, and it shows."

With that said, Metal Underground.com is pleased to present "The Fog":

Imminent Sonic Destruction will support Circus Maximus on the Norwegian progressive act's run up to ProgPower USA. For dates and venues, head on over to this location.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

4 Comments on "Imminent Sonic Destruction Brings On 'The Fog'"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. George Schulte writes:

Would love to hear more cuts. Very professional and music that can span the ages of listeners.

# Aug 12, 2016 @ 1:41 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Blindgreed1's avatar


2. Blindgreed1 writes:

Very well done.

# Aug 16, 2016 @ 3:05 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
3. Per Jensen writes:

When I first heard this, I started to get a bad rumbling feeling in my belly. Next thing I had to run to the toilet and totally destroy it with the biggest turd ever!

Flushes Toilet!

# Aug 17, 2016 @ 9:37 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Blindgreed1's avatar


4. Blindgreed1 writes:

The real Per Jensen was a hell of a Danish football player and likely better spoken.

# Aug 18, 2016 @ 2:21 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.