"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Criminal Streaming New Song "Shock Doctrine"

Set to release new full-length "Fear Itself" on March 11th worldwide via Metal Blade Records, Anglo-Chilean thrashers Criminal today unleashes the album's second single "Shock Doctrine." Listen in through the player below, provided courtesy of NoCleanSinging.

Criminal vocalist/guitarist Anton Reisenegger comments: "I think this track encompasses everything that defines Criminal: the groove, the speed, the melody and the aggression. The lyrics deal with the way politicians use certain events to instill fear in the population, be it a terrorist attack, an economic crisis, or just lately the refugee crisis, in order to be able to put new policies in place and tighten the grip on the very people they are supposed to be protecting."

Recorded at Criminal bassist Danny Biggin's HVR Studios in Suffolk with a "no bullshit" approach to recording, the band purposely avoided the vices of modern metal production such as samples, quantizing and amp simulators.

The striking artwork by renowned Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu (At The Gates, Arch Enemy, Mayhem, etc.) perfectly represents the bleak, dystopian atmosphere of the lyrics, which denounce warmongering, misinformation, exploitation and other ills of modern society.

The full "Fear Itself" track listing is as follows:

1. Intro
2. Down Driven
3. False Flag Attack
4. Shock Doctrine
5. The Needle and Knife
6. Scream of Consciousness
7. Summoning the Apocalypse
8. The One Who Speaks at Night
9. Animals to Gods
10. Deep in the Rot
11. Wasted Youth
12. Carne Molida

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Criminal Preaches The 'Shock Doctrine'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.