"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Album "Feel The Misery" Announced By My Dying Bride

Legendary U.K. gothic doom act My Dying Bride announced that the forthcoming 13th full length studio album will be entitled "Feel the Misery." The album drops on September 18th via Peaceville Records.

With crushing epic doom spanning eight tracks, and featuring the return of original guitarist Calvin Robertshaw to the fold, this is undoubtedly amongst the band's heaviest, darkest and most majestic works to date, marking My Dying Bride's 25th anniversary in punishing style, with the title track also set to feature as the album's debut video.

"Feel the Misery" sees a notable return to the band's old haunt, Academy Studios in Dewsbury, West Yorkshire, for recording where all of My Dying Bride's classic early albums were produced. Mixing once more takes place at Futureworks in Manchester, U.K. with the band's long-time studio engineer/producer, Mags.

The band commented on the themes of Feel the Misery: "Contained within are all the grandeur and mastery of the melancholic one would expect to find on a recording from this group of musicians.

"The crushing of hearts and the solemn farewells to friends and lovers twinned with the destruction of flesh and the passions of cruelty are laid neatly for the listener to devour and savour.

"Eight new compositions detailing the path of life through dark doors and the burdens we all must endure simply to make it to the end, My Dying Bride have returned with a foreboding new album which may enlighten, delight and consume the soul in one epic sitting."

Feel the Misery will be released on CD, vinyl, plus a special edition 2CD/2x10 vinyl set in deluxe earbook format with exclusive music and expanded booklet.

The track list is:

1. And My Father Left Forever
2. To Shiver in Empty Halls
3. A Cold New Curse
4. Feel the Misery
5. A Thorn of Wisdom
6. I Celebrate Your Skin
7. I Almost Loved You
8. Within a Sleeping Forest

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "My Dying Bride Wants You To 'Feel The Misery'"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

RememberMetal?'s avatar


1. RememberMetal? writes:

They've had better album titles but the artwork is gorgeous. I've been a fan since the mid 90's and I was blown away by the last album. Here's to hoping this one is just as solid.

# Jun 25, 2015 @ 12:10 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. jenny fear writes:

The title is like Behemoth's "The Satanist": it seems too simplistic and obvious, yet stands as a perfect summary of the band's lyrical focus, and can also mean more than it says. The artwork is certainly beautiful and it's nice to hear on recent albums how this band has returned to form, without losing creativity.

# Jun 26, 2015 @ 2:36 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
RememberMetal?'s avatar


3. RememberMetal? writes:

That seems reasonable. It certainly cuts to the chase and I can imagine Staintorpe singing that phrase melodically over a chorus.

I can honestly say that in 20 years (almost to the day) as a fan, My Dying Bride have never disappointed. I can't make that claim of more than a handful of bands.

# Jun 28, 2015 @ 10:40 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.