"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Festerday Announces "...The Four Stages of Decomposition..."

Hot on the heels of archival releases from bands such as Abhorrence, Xysma, and Mordicus, Svart Records is delving deeper into the Finnish death metal scene of yesteryear with the complete works of Festerday.

Entitled "...The Four Stages of Decomposition...," the double-CD / triple-LP package consists of all Festerday studio material, live and rehearsal rarities, plus new renditions of nine old songs that have re-recorded, renamed, and re-composed. Festerday's "...The Four Stages of Decomposition..." is set for international release on May 29th, and can be sampled below.

Festerday was formed in Pietarsaari (Jakestown), Finland, approximately 1989 when four 13- to 14-year-old guys (Timo Kontio, Kena Strömsholm, Miikka Timonen, and Jallu Honkaniemi) met at the local youth center and realized that they all shared the same interests within the underground scene. The members had already been involved in some band activities before they got together, but the musical outcome of those bands did not exactly turn out as planned. The underground scene offered something out of the ordinary to the youngsters. Tape-trading and fanzines drove them deeper, and after a couple of months, the four guys were jamming in the local youth center's facilities doing covers of punk, thrash, and death metal songs.

In 2014, the band started to rehearse 25-year-old songs. At this point, Antti Räisälä from Total Vomit Experience joined in on bass as a full member, and plans for an album started to take form. Later the same year, Finnish label Svart Records showed interest in the group, and this time, the ink did dry on paper. The set's track listing is:

1. I Breathe Death*
2. Necrolatry (Risen from the Grave)*
3. Mouth-To-Mouth Vomiting*
4. ...Life...Hearse...Mould*
5. Wonderful Worms*
6. Rotting under Goregeous Autumn Colors*
7. Shit-Blistering*
8. Romantic Regurgitation of Excrements*
9. Maggot Infested Corpse*
10. A Writhing Mass of Flesh-Eating Maggots
11. Necropsy (Buried but Resurrected)
12. Dismembered and Devoured
13. Carunculae under Skin
14. Palpation of the Dissected
15. Life Among Tears and Clouds
16. In Gorgeous Autumn Colors
17. Wonderful Worms
18. Born in a Casket
19. Cadaver's Vomit
20. Gastrointestinal Haemorrhage
21. Putrified Corpses
22. Ready to Die
23. Snorting Bile
24. Your Bones Around My Neck
25. Entangled in Entrails
26. Stiff Swollen and Blue
27. Forever...Rotting
28. Ready to die
29. Hacked into Pieces

* = "recomposed" new versions

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Festerday Announces Full Works Release"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.