"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Pelican Reveals Details On New EP "The Cliff"

Yesterday, Chicago's esteemed instrumental quartet Pelican announced a new EP, and today full details have become available.

The EP is due out through Southern Lord in the new year and is based around fresh re-imaginings of "The Cliff," a highlight from 2013's "Forever Becoming," and one recently completed new song.

Due out February 24th on 12" vinyl and digital formats, the four track "The Cliff" EP includes remixes from Justin Broadrick (of Godflesh, Jesu), Aaron Harris and Bryant Clifford Meyer of ISIS/Palms, and, for only the second time in the band's fourteen year career, vocals. The following press release was also issued:

"Allen Epley (Shiner, The Life and Times) once again returns to the band's fold to transform the concept and overall outcome of what we have come to know as Pelican. Epley's seasoned voice is as broad and astonishingly capable on 'The Cliff' as the members behind the music, a claim those who have listened to Epley's contribution on 'Final Breath' from 2009's 'What We All Come To Need' will attest to.

"Elsewhere on the record, Justin Broadrick and AH/BCM turn in fresh takes of the source material, feeling less like remixes than new compositions reworked from the original source. Rounding out the set is the previously unreleased song 'The Wait,' a contemplative semi-acoustic simmer that builds to an explosion of cathartic distortion and melody in true Pelican fashion. The drums were recorded by Aaron Harris and the rest of the music recorded by Sanford Parker."

The track listing is as follows:

1. The Cliff (Vocal Version) [streaming here]
2. The Cliff (Justin K. Broadrick remix)
3. The Cliff (AH & BCM remix)
4. The Wait

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Pelican Reveals 'The Cliff' EP Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.