"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Dark Tranquillity Album Tracklisting Revealed

Photo of Dark Tranquillity

Band Photo: Dark Tranquillity (?)

Sweden's Dark Tranquillity have revealed the track listing and artwork for their new album, "Character", due in Europe on January 24 and North America on January 25 via Century Media Records. The band recently released an EP, entitled "Lost to Apathy," as a teaser for the upcoming full-length. It includes four songs, a video-clip (for the title track) and a screensaver.

"Character" (view cover here ) track listing:

01. The New Build
02. Through Smudged Lenses
03. Out of Nothing
04. The Endless Feed
05. Lost to Apathy
06. Mind Matters
07. One Thought
08. Dry Run
09. Am I 1?
10. Senses Tied
11. My Negation

Speaking to Portugal's LOUD! magazine recently, Dark Tranquillity frontman Mikael Stanne said about the upcoming CD, "The album is very diverse. There are songs that are heavier, other ones that are much more complex and a couple of others that are really fast. Overall I feel it's more varied and also much angrier, the whole thing just fells different. We wanted to make an album that wasn't that easy… We don't want people to listen to one of our records today and think it sounds great, just to forget about it two weeks later. We tried to do something that sticks with the listener, which they can explore over a long period of time. I personally haven't got tired of it yet, so I think we managed to do it pretty well — we didn't want to be too obvious with this one. It was actually kind of a conscious effort to do it this way… We love music with a progressive edge and we played around with these songs for months, worked every little detail to make it as interesting as possible [for us] to play."

Source: Metal Storm

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Dark Tranquillity Album Tracklisting Revealed"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

ac666's avatar


1. ac666 writes:


# Nov 17, 2004 @ 7:04 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. Andrew writes:

Sounds good

# Nov 18, 2004 @ 7:23 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
3. Anthony Sirica writes:


Possessed forges the gritting, teeth-baring bile of American Death Metal together with the melodic overtones of the so-called "New Wave of Swedish Death Metal" promulgated by bands like In Flames, Arch Enemy and the late, lamented and the legendary At the Gates. Equal parts Pantera, Hatebreed and early Sepultura, the central New Jersey based band have carved out a name for themselves touring with the formidable likes of Slayer, Megadeth and Metallica and playing gigs with bands as diverse as Testament, Anthrax, Forbidden and Vio-Lence. Possessed's music cuts a clear, brutal path through metal's inter-genre barriers as swiftly as the band's diverse ethnic makeup cuts across color lines. The men of Possessed - hulking, imposing vocalist/bassist Jeff Becerra; drummer Mike Sus; and the brotherly guitarist team of Mike Torrao and Larry Lalonde - first emerged with Seven Churches in 1985.

# Dec 1, 2004 @ 10:35 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.