"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Strapping Young Lad Website, Update From Gene Hoglan

Photo of Strapping Young Lad

Band Photo: Strapping Young Lad (?)

Strapping Young Lad's newly re-vamped website is now online. The band's new upcoming studio album, entitled "Alien," is scheduled to be released in March 2005 through Century Media Records.

Here is the track listing:

01. Imperial
02. Skeksis
03. Shitstorm
04. Love?
05. Shine
06. We Ride
07. Possessions
08. Golluminizor
09. Thalamus
10. Zen
11. Celestial Event

Drummer Gene Hoglan has also posted this message on the band's website:

Alright, here's the deal. 200 hundred some-odd shows throughout 2003, culminating in our wicked dvd. It's February 2004, now what do we do? Easy, TOP THAT OLD SHIT! The Dev and myself, holed up in my house, just JAMMIN'! And FEELING, and BLEEDING, both of us goin' through HEAVY shit. And you know what? When you've got the entire world against you, you turn to yer brother, yer comrade. You look him in the eye and say,"Alright, motherfucker, whatta you got?", and then he shows ya.

Every piece of what's goin' on in your lives comes pouring out, all the spite, vitriol, and glory. Two men, masters at what they do, lettin' it flow. Hell, more like 'flood'. Fuck yeah, The Dev and myself, laying down foundations like caffiene-maddened brickmasons, each idea unfolding easier than the last. United, bonded by 'fuck you' to all things spineless, waving goodbye to the world with a pair of up-turned middle fingers.

The tunes come fast and furious. The freakout-o-meter gets cranked up daily. No idea is untested. THERE ARE NO FUCKIN" RULES!! There are only three other motherfuckers i need to impress, and those are my men. Speaking of men, The Dev and I put together a whack of tunes and ideas while Jed and Byron were off viking with FF, knowing that, just because they weren't there, didn't at all mean they weren't there. Jed and By were a part of every single jam we had. And when they finally blew into town, knowing nods were the order of the day when we unleashed the new shit on 'em.

We whipped out a quick pre-pro demo, and before they split again, Jed fires off a few riffs FROM the fires, which become the basis for "Shitstorm". Jesus, what a mind-fuck that tune is. I ain't gonna call it the craziest tune ever made, but you will. In the middle of all this absolute creativity, I lose my pad, therefore, our jamspot, but thanks to the dudes from PunchDrunk, Savannah and Ten Miles Wide, and the gracious loaning of their space, The Dev and I don't skip a beat, or lose a step. That's when the REAL aggro shit started hemmorrhaging from the Oscilla-Twins. "Skeksis", "Shitstorm", and a pile of crazy ideas that we might use for the next one birthed themselves from those sessions.

Forced couch-surfing with an empty wallet will definitely bring out the 'fuck you' in anyone. As if i have to tell you this. And then along comes August 18th. The day we started this new abomination. I can't wait to cut your fuckin' heads off. Put it in gear, motherfucker.

Source: Metal Eater

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

4 Comments on "New SYL Website, Update From Gene Hoglan"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. someone from Vancouver writes:

Devin Townsend. You f**king rule man!!! Live on!!!

# Nov 15, 2004 @ 6:19 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. Satan writes:

Strapping Young Lad has taking over metal, they are the GODS man!!!

# Nov 16, 2004 @ 8:49 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
3. john boy writes:

syl will be the killer band in my book.

# Nov 16, 2004 @ 4:29 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
ac666's avatar


4. ac666 writes:

f***in' cool!

# Nov 17, 2004 @ 7:18 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.