"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Album "Overhaul" Announced By Monsterworks

New Zealand metal act Monsterworks announced that the band's new album will be entitled "Overhaul" and will be issued via Eat Lead and Die Music on August 12, 2014. "Overhaul" will be available as a download and 180g gatefold vinyl signed by the band, with lyrics.

The new track "Trial of the Sentient" was premiered exclusively via GunShyAssassin.com at this location.

Vocalist/Guitarist Jon had this to say about the themes surrounding the album:

"This is our follow up to Monsterworks :: Universe from earlier this year. It was hard to go thematically vaster than the Universe, so we took a step back and started looking at mankind and civilization itself. Overhaul is effectively about the change we have to go through as a species in the hope of avoiding annihilation. There are definitely some common themes being explored that started to emerge in the last album; mostly about projecting where we will ultimately end up by the time the Universe ends in a few trillion trillion years or so. This side of it was inspired by an Asimov short story: The Last Question.

"Musically, this one is a little more stripped back and is perfect as the first release we will do on vinyl. Releasing an LP is particularly exciting for the band and special thanks go to James Plotkin for handling the mastering. James has a vast body of work, but recently did the re-masters for ISIS (awesome post-metal band, not Islamist loons) which are great.

We continue to aim to produce music/lyrics that will exercise the grey matter, but first and foremost this is a metal album we are really proud of."

The track list for "Overhaul" is:

1. Educate the Masses
2. To Do What Must Be Done
3. Overhaul
4. Trial of the Sentient
5. Penultimate
6. Resolution

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Monsterworks To Release New Album 'Overhaul'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.