"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Aittala To Release "Effigy" Album In June

Aittala is set to release third full-length album "Effigy" on June 17th, which follows 2011’s "Haunt Your Flesh."

"Effigy" consists of 10 songs; seven brand new hard and heavy Aittala tracks along with a re-imagining of three songs from the 1993 demo "Selling Heaven."

“Originally, ‘Effigy’ was meant to be a 4-5 song EP,” vocalist/guitarist Eric, explains. “But we had seven completed songs that we felt were all strong. We just decided to record all seven of them, then figure out how to release them later.”

Since seven songs seemed an awkward number to release at one time, Eric came up with a creative solution. “Since I had the original ‘Selling Heaven’ tracks digitized (from the 16-track reel), I thought it would be pretty cool re-record everything using only the original drum and bass tracks and release them as fresh versions. This is giving me the opportunity to release versions of those songs how they were originally intended to sound if I had the time, money and technology when they were originally recorded.”

With regards to the new songs that make up the bulk of the new album, Eric states “I’m very excited for people to hear the new material. I feel they’re the best Aittala songs released. The song writing is moving the sound in heavier direction with more of a focus on guitar-driven metal. In the last couple years I've been finding myself listening to heavier bands and those influences have been creeping into the way I'm approaching my song writing. But even with the heavier sound, the songs will keep the unique sound that Aittala has been complemented on.”

The track listing is as follows:

1. Pigs
2. Effigy
3. Russian Roulette
4. Souvenirs’
5. Erased’
6. Deconstruct’
7. Something Wicked This Way Comes
8. Sinister as the Serpent (2014)
9. Selling Heaven (2014)
10. Creators of Doom (2014)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Aittala To Release 'Effigy' Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.