"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Gloryful Posts "Ocean Blade" Track-By-Track Breakdown

Gloryful's new album "Ocean Blade" will be released on April 25th, 2014 via Massacre Records. The album was mixed by Dan Swanö and mastered by Powerwolf's guitarist Charles Greywolf. Kris Verwimp is responsible for the cover artwork.

Today drummer Hartmut Stoof has released a new track-by-track breakdown covering the second half of the album. Here's what Stoof had to say about the album:

Black Legacy: Black Legacy is more or less the ballad on the album. It contains many folk influences and some instruments from this specific period. This song is musically and lyrically meant as the calm before the storm.

All Men To The Arms: This one is also very strong and powerful, expressing an overflowing energy. As the title suggests, this song is a call - for the crew to fight and for you out there to bang your head and raise your fist! The drumming and guitar picking reinforce the lyrics, that describe the battle between the crew and mighty Sedna in the first part of this song. Lyrical based stops in the chorus create catchy hooklines. As you will recognize, the second half is completely different, starting with a guitar solo and a typical Manowar-styled verse, leading to the chorus, in which the title is demandingly sung. To put the final touches to the song, Adrian Weiss performs a killer guitar solo.

McGuerkin On The Bridge: Captain Karl McGuerkin is a fictional character. Each crew needs a bold and frightening badass – especially on this voyage. Musically the song offers a contrast of a raw lyrical characterization and a melodic composition. This song has a lot of drive and sounds very compact. With its 3 minutes playing time, this song is the shortest on this record, but you will not miss a thing in it - that's for sure! This one is pure power metal!

Siren Song: The guitar leads are apparently a tribute to Running Wild! The lyrics are about the sirens, based on the Odysseus myth in context of a sailor’s adventures. The verses are groovy and the tempo switches in the bridge to raise the energy to an opening chorus. Ramona Kunze’s vocals in the middle of the track fit perfectly to the atmosphere and they exactly sound like what you may expect from a siren who's luring others to destruction with her enchanting voice.

Ocean Legacy: Ocean Legacy is the instrumental outro. This one is bringing back the Black Legacy theme on cello, performed by Jens’ cousin Gunnar Vosgröne, and also the sounds of breaking waves you’ve heard in the album intro.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Gloryful Posts Track-By-Track Breakdown"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.