"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Candlelight Records Signs Sigiriya, New Album "Darkness Died Today" Detailed

U.K. stoner act Sigiriya signed on with Candlelight Records and will release the sophomore album "Darkness Died Today" on April 21st.

Beneath the soil of a Welsh valley a heavy metal life-force regained strength: rising from the ashes of psychedelic doom merchants Acrimony, Sigiriya was born. Not wanting the limitations of reforming a project long dead to them, Sigiriya come from the earthy depths, bringing hefty, tremor-inducing sonics that pay homage to the riff. In 2012, the prestigious Church Within Records (Germany) released the full length album, "Return To Earth" with much critical acclaim.

Time served in the likes of Iron Monkey, Dukes of Nothing, Black Eye Riot, The Nine, Suns of Thunder and Tabularasa have forged their thick output, giving the foursome a more dynamic, meaner, leaner, earthier approach, which has developed an intense dirty sound.

Taking their name from the mystic ‘throat of the lion’ rock in Sri Lanka, their rumble has been moving the Black Mountains of their homeland and they’ve been moving the tectonic plates of the earth via shows and festivals across Europe and the UK including the prestigious Roadburn Festival, Desert fest, Stoned From the Underground among others….

"Darkness Died Today" was recorded live onto analogue tape at Sonic One with Tim Hamill. The mixing was done by Andrew Schneider (Shrine builder, Scissor fight, Big Business…) in New York and finally mastering with Richard Whittaker in London. The new album builds on the sonic foundation of "Return To Earth" and soars to even greater heights with the addition of new vocalist Matt ‘Pipes’ Williams.

The band commented on the signing: "Our intention has always been to spread the riff as far and wide as possible, and we’re honoured to be teaming up with Candlelight for the new album. The diversity of great bands on the label and the good relationship we have with the people there make it a natural home for us."

The track list for "Darkness Died Today" is as follows:

1. Dragging The Bones
2. Guided By Mountains
3. Return To Earth
4. Godspeeder
5. Tribe Of The Old Oak
6. Obelisk
7. Freedom Engines
8. Sleeping With The Dogs

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Sigiriya Signs With Candlelight Records"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.