"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal Underground.com Forum

Our newly launched forum is a place to freely discuss topics that are not directly in the news. Posting messages in the forum requires a free Metalunderground.com membership. You can still discuss news articles by posting comments on the respective articles (with or without a login).

Please view the forum rules before posting. Spamming, trolling or personal attacks may result in deletion of messages, loss of membership privledges, and/or a permanent ban.

Your permissions: while not logged in as a member, you may only read the forums. (Log in/Sign Up)

Metal Guitar

Posted in: Forum Home >> Musician's Chat >> Metal Guitar

Displaying posts 1 - 25 of 26 1 2 Last
Displaying posts 1 - 25 of 26 1 2 Last
Apr 27, 2010 9:55 PM ET #1 (permalink)

I've been playing guitar for several years now and I'm thinking about getting a new guitar, specifically for playing metal guitar. I've looked at a bunch of different guitars, especially Jackson and BC Rich guitars. Are there any advantages/disadvantages to either brand? Do you have other suggestions I could check out as well? Thanks.

Apr 27, 2010 10:53 PM ET #2 (permalink)

Depends on what your budget is (what is it?), from what I've heard about BC Rich, unless you're going for the higher end models they aren't so good in the quality department, and the same goes for Jackson out of personal experience.

Whether or not money is an issue here, I'd say to go for an ESP/LTD, Schecter, or Ibanez for playing metal, but as usual, it comes down to personal preference.

Apr 27, 2010 11:16 PM ET #3 (permalink)

thanks for the info, my budget is probably in the $200-300 range at the moment. I definitely wouldn't be able to afford a high-end model...

all the makers you mentioned seemed pretty good, it's just tricky for me to distinguish between one and the other without playing them, because i've had the same guitar for years so my experience is pretty limited.