"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal Underground.com Forum

Our newly launched forum is a place to freely discuss topics that are not directly in the news. Posting messages in the forum requires a free Metalunderground.com membership. You can still discuss news articles by posting comments on the respective articles (with or without a login).

Please view the forum rules before posting. Spamming, trolling or personal attacks may result in deletion of messages, loss of membership privledges, and/or a permanent ban.

Your permissions: while not logged in as a member, you may only read the forums. (Log in/Sign Up)

Starting a band

Posted in: Forum Home >> Extreme Metal >> Starting a band

Displaying 5 posts
Displaying 5 posts
Mar 18, 2010 9:38 PM ET #1 (permalink)

Hey guys, youve all been pretty helpful to me in the short time ive been here, so let me ask a question. Ive been playing guitar for 3 going on 4 years now, practicing hours on end every day to get good enough to form a band. I was probably good enough 2 years ago but i wanted to make sure. I have no experience with starting a band however, I have played 2 shows within the last year at guitar competitions. For one, im not that good at writing riffs, period. I just cant seem to come up with anything good, Anyone have any tips? And second of all. How would I get this band started? Im going for a slayer sound because theyve been my mine influence.

Mar 18, 2010 10:05 PM ET #2 (permalink)

Hi durzaroth,

A while ago I wrote an article on songwriting, here's the link: http://www.metalunderground.com/news/details.cfm?newsid=46898

Hopefully you might find that helpful. Second - hell I'm stuck in the same point with that, just needing to find other musicians. Like all successful bands start, you just need to hang out with musicians a lot, meet like minded people and go from there. I live in a smaller place and none of my friends are into metal so it's not so easy.