"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal Underground.com Forum

Our newly launched forum is a place to freely discuss topics that are not directly in the news. Posting messages in the forum requires a free Metalunderground.com membership. You can still discuss news articles by posting comments on the respective articles (with or without a login).

Please view the forum rules before posting. Spamming, trolling or personal attacks may result in deletion of messages, loss of membership privledges, and/or a permanent ban.

Your permissions: while not logged in as a member, you may only read the forums. (Log in/Sign Up)

Tips for Screaming / Favorite vocalists

Posted in: Forum Home >> Extreme Metal >> Tips for Screaming / Favorite vocalists

Displaying 11 posts
Displaying 11 posts
Feb 25, 2010 9:48 PM ET #1 (permalink)

I've been growling and screaming for almost two years, and I take influence from Lamb of God, Dimmu Borgir, Mnemic, Meshuggah, Between the Buried and Me and many more.

Any tips / exercises that help to tone your high screams would be appreciated.

Also, what is everyone's favorite screaming vocalist / vocal style?

For me it's probably Randy Blythe of L.O.G.

Feb 26, 2010 12:18 PM ET #2 (permalink)

Eat a giant bowl of Brutal-Os cereal for breakfast every morning, with beer instead of milk. That's all you need to know.

Feb 26, 2010 12:56 PM ET #3 (permalink)

Sing nursery rhymes. No seriously, it helps.

Feb 26, 2010 1:35 PM ET #4 (permalink)

george corsgrinder fisher,he has an ausome low voice

Feb 26, 2010 10:44 PM ET #5 (permalink)

Theres a couple of vox that i like a lot:

Mikael from Opeth for sure is one. Peter T. from Hypocrisy. Devin T., his SYL stuff for the screams and last but certainly not least MORTUUS/ARIOCH from Marduk and Funeral Mist is my all time favorite BM vocalist.