"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Norway
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Arabrot News

Below is our complete Arabrot news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

"(We've Got) Fiends In Low Places" Streaming

Eolian Empire's latest deck-wrecking mess is ready for heckling and streaming in its bruising entirety as the "(We've Got) Fiends In Low Places: Heavy Vibes Internationale" cassette will officially be paroled tomorrow.

Featuring more than fifty minutes of abuse from fifteen acts, "Fiends In Low Places" is the sequel and companion compilation to the "(We've Gotta) Keep Our Heads: Heavy Vibes from Portland, Oregon."

Yet instead of focusing on Portland-based acts as with the label's twenty-nine previous releases, this releases's contributions were culled from friends playing off-the-wall heavy music in overlapping scenes internationally.

You can pick up your own copy at this location or stream the release below. The full track listing is: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Throat Streaming Compilation Track

At the beginning of February, the Eolian Empire hive will further uglify the planet with the label's thirtieth title, and first international compilation, the "(We've Got) Fiends In Low Places: Heavy Vibes Internationale" cassette.

Another track from the compilation is now available online. Check out "Clean Cleaner" from Finnish outfit Throat at The Obelisk here. The full track listing is: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Eolian Empire Releasing New Compilation

Portland, Oregon outsider collective Eolian Empire has spat forth the details for the label's thirtieth unruly release, in the form of "(We've Got) Fiends In Low Places: Heavy Vibes Internationale." The opening track from the mess can also be heard below, thanks to Vice.com.

This special collection marks a new low for the Eolian horde, since the entire roster to date has yielded only Portland-centric audio carnage, while "Fiends In Low Places" features a glut of output from the Eolian clan's caustic cronies from around the globe, with more than fifty minutes of champions of the international heavy underground in North and South America, Europe, Australia, and Japan. The track listing is: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Arabrot Announces Self-Titled Album

Norwegian Grammy winning noise-metal-punks Årabrot will release their self-titled sixth LP through Fysisk Format in North America on September 3rd, following the European release on August 19th. The following press release was issued about the album:

"Årabrot follows the band’s greatest success story to date, the 2011-released Solar Anus LP. With more uncaged power than ever, the album surprised even Årabrot’s own diehard fanbase; suddenly biblio-pornographic lyrics had become popular culture, as had Steve Albini’s sparse production technique. Solar Anus featured on many best-of-the-year-lists, and it received widespread good reviews, including NME who called the record 'as unsettling as a thunderstorm approaching a medieval battle [8/10]' and The Stool Pigeon who, in a 5/5 review, dubbed them 'one of Europe's best heavy rock bands.' Årabrot is also now supported by Fund for Performing Arts and The Art Council of Norway.

"While writing Årabrot, singer and guitarist Kjetil Nernes inhabited an old abandoned church just across the border in Sweden, in a pastoral countryside where time has stood still for generations. While the lyrics on the 2010 release Revenge were a revenge fantasy dedicated to a certain someone, and Solar Anus and Mæsscr told stories of the human beast, Årabrot revolves around breaking away from city life and the feeling of social asphyxiation invoked by them. Nernes has revealed that much of the inspiration for the lyrics has been found in early 20th century surrealists like Georges Bataille and Robert Desnos, mixed with a fascination for the mythologies of ancient Greece and the Old Testament.

"Årabrot features a widened family of collaborators, most notably Emil Nikolaisen (Serena Maneesh/4AD), who in addition to recording and mixing the album, also plays bass and does backup vocals. Basic riffs, percussion and vocals were laid before Norwegian experimental music stalwarts Lasse Marhaug and Erland Dahlen added their musical substance to the mix, and a random visit by Laura Pleasants of Kylesa resulted in guest vocals on 'Arrabal's Dream. The album was then mastered by Jason Ward at Chicago Mastering." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Rabbits Streaming Split Release

Oregon’s Rabbits and Norway’s Årabrot continue to co-pummel audiences across Europe on their ongoing brutal trek, touring in support of their new split 7” release, available now via Tiger (Europe) and Eolian Empire (USA).

To spread the vile news, today Invisible Oranges is streaming the noisemangled split release, right here (you can also check it out below). The following press release was also issued about the split:

"On the raging split release, Norway's ever-morphing Årabrot meets Portland's sludge-punk kings Rabbits, as if twins separated at birth with a psychic connection that spans a continent and ocean, both acts have mired themselves in the most base elements of rock and rebuilt these primitive pieces into music of violent, raw beauty. Årabrot's 'Blood On Bunny' (no dig at their split partners, they swear) is part industrial, part noise-rock, part sludge and all disturbing, while Rabbits's 'Yr In Luck' shifts between swinging, rolling, droning versus to grinding choruses, interspersed and ending with a pummeling dirge; like two fucked-up sides of the same shitty coin. The split will be pressed on mega-heavy 70-gram wax -- a split release with Rabbits' label Eolian Empire and Arabrot's Norwegian label Fysisk Format.

"Blood On Bunny, Fysisk Format confirms, is the first single from the pending self-titled LP from Årabrot, the act’s massive sixth full-length to date. The label will release more info on Årabrot in the coming weeks, while the band takes to the road with Black Cobra and Bison B.C. on a rampage through France, UK, The Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and Austria." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Arabrot Reveals New Album Tracklisting

Norwegian progressive rock act Arabrot has revealed the tracklisting for its forthcoming studio album "Revenge." "Revenge" is set for release in November through Fysisk Format.

Here is the "Revenge" tracklisting:
1. The Most Sophisticated Form Of Revenge
2. Interim Me
3. The Wretched Child
4. The Dolorous Years
5. Murder
6. End Of First Chant I
7. The Pilgrimage
8. End Of First Chant II
9. The Primrose Path

2 Comments - Discuss