"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Formed: 2005
From: Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Last Known Status: Active


Originally formed in Port Elizabeth, South Africa, now based in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Latest Chromium News

Below is our complete Chromium news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Chromium Releases New Video

Chromium has released a new video for the track "World of Lies." Their newest, eponymously named "Chromium," was put out earlier this year and this video actually comes from a song off their second release, "Confessions of a Hero." Chromium are scheduled to play at Merchfest, a large two-stage event taking place at Rockabilly's in Edenvale, South Africa on November 5th along with a couple dozen other bands More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Chromium Releases Artwork for Third Studio Album

Chromium has posted the cover artwork online for the band's new album, which can be viewed here. Chromium also commented on the new album:

"The start of 2011 has been quite a stellar one for the internationally renowned hard rock/metal group Chromium. Just having completed the crowd vocals for the band's upcoming third release, Chromium are on a path for great things this year. Fans got a first glimpse and listen to the new album this past week and the reaction was astounding.

"Another noticeable and unbelievable aspect of the third upcoming album is that world-renowned artist and bassist for the Grammy nominated band Killswitch Engage, Mike D’Antonio, had his hand in developing the artwork for the album. Mike D brought a totally different edge to the band’s image with his masterful skill in the artwork for the album.

"The first single from the album ‘My Perfection’ has been premiered on the band’s official MySpace page and fans worldwide have been praising the new sound of the band. The song will be hitting the radio airwaves soon so keep a listen out for ‘My Perfection’. Produced by the band’s very own Jared Gunston, the album promises to surpass any expectations and please fans around the world with its extensive attention to detail and brutal power behind the music. The introduction of Justin Du Preez on vocals has really brought a powerful and clear approach to the already unique vocals of the band.

"Chromium will be going on a full South African national tour in support of the upcoming album which promises to be one of the most energetic and entertaining stage shows to grace local venues this year." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Chromium Enters The Studio

CHROMIUM will be going into studio to record their follow up album to their sophomore release "Confessions Of A Hero." The untitled project is the group’s third album.

The third release will be available early next year and the set release date will be announced soon. The album will be recorded at Sonic Precision studios as well as other locations that bring the best out of the band. The band’s own Jared Gunston will be producing the record.

CHROMIUM's lineup is as follows:

Jared Gunston – vocals & guitar
Justin Du Preez – vocals & guitar
Adrian Basson – bass
Hannes Matthysen – drums

0 Comments - Discuss

Metality.net Releases Free Metal Compilation

METALITY.net, in cooperation with Metalhit.com, released their first digital compilation album, "METALITY - The Compilation." It's been out a while now, but free music is always worth passing on to our readers.

2. FOMENTO "The Die Is Cast"
3. NEOSIS "Unwilling Fate"
4. NERVECELL "Vicious Circle of Bloodshed"
5. NORTHER "Break Myself Away"
6. DEMONIC RESURRECTION "The Unrelenting Surge"
7. DAYLIGHT DIES "A Portrait in White"
8. SCARAB "War to End"
9. CiLiCE "Mental Breakdown"
10. EMPYREON "Beyond Perception"
11. MANTRIC "Symptoms"
13. DREAMSHADE "Our Buried Secrets"
14. CHROMIUM "All I Have"
15. BENEVOLENT "Haunting Shores"
16. A THOUSAND REASONS "Strength and Fight"
17. WARTHANE "Lord Oblivion"
18. VOICE OF THE SOUL "Farewell to Hope"
19. COAT OF ARMS "Ballad of the Mariner"
20. PAURA "Scars of Life"
21. BILOCATE "Inoculate"
22. CRESCENT "Jerusalem"
23. POST MORTEM "Whispers of Ages"
24. A SHOT OF ADRENALINE "The Human Plague"
25. DEPTH "Memento Mori"

There are three3 bonus tracks available on the download version of the album, including:
1. BLACKWELL "Deliverance"
2. KILL THE ROMANCE "Trespasser"

You can download the whole thing here, individual tracks here or preview them first on a player here.

0 Comments - Discuss