"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Australia
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Thrall News

Below is our complete Thrall news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Thrall Releases New Official Video

Australian black metal enigmas Thrall today premiere the video for "Aokigahara Jukai," the title track of the new album for Moribund Records.

The film clip is a surreal evocation of virulence and fecund decay directed, filmed and edited by Ziltch. Check it out below. The new album's track listing is as follows:

1. Longing For Death
2. Aokigahara Jukai
3. Of Hate
4. Its Toothless Maw
5. Ubasute
6. The Pact
7. Ghost Chrysalides
8. Slaves More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Thrall Announces New Album Release

Thrall's new album "Aokigahara Jukai" will be available worldwide on October 22nd, 2013. The following press release was issued about the album:

"From Australia’s cold dark island of exile, inspired by Japan’s shadowy secret suicide forest, via the fertile black/thrash scene of Melbourne, Australia, Moribund Cult Records is proud to present 'Aokigahara Jukai,' black metal band Thrall’s third studio album.

"Thrall emerged from Tasmania in 2005, the brainchild of Tom Void, songwriter and illustrator for Thrall, to become one of Australia’s most savage, rocking black metal bands.

"Aokigahara Jukai is a conceptual exploration of the eponymous suicide forest, situated in the foothills of Mt Fuji, Japan. Aokigahara Jukai is rich with history and mythology, and is the site of over 50 suicides a year.

"On Aokigahara Jukai, Thrall successfully articulates misanthropy without hypocrisy. By blending traditional black metal elements, with doom, death metal and crust influences, Thrall creates unique, memorable music. The trajectory of the album takes the listener on an unrelenting furious void-ward journey from the opening track to the final deathlike strains of emptiness. Coupled with the artwork’s aesthetic qualities of smothering detail, Aokigahara Jukai is an immensely compelling document of unrivalled intensity and intent."

The band's vocalist and guitarist Tom states: “The geographical proximity of Aokigahara Jukai to Mount Fuji seemed to eloquently encapsulate the duality of Japan. The sublime and the abject intermingled. National landmark and national skeleton in the closet." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Thrall To Release New Album

Tasmanian black metallers Thrall are releasing their second album, "Vermin to the Earth," worldwide on October 25th, 2011 via Moribund Cult Records, and in Australia and New Zealand through Obsidian Records.

“Vermin to the Earth is a requiem to a cursed species,” states Tom Void, guitarist and vocalist for Thrall. “It documents the metamorphosis of Thrall from a studio project to a live entity. Thrall’s live set for the last two years was mostly comprised of songs from Vermin.”

“We are also really energized to have an Australian label getting behind us for this release” states Void. “Obsidian have bridged the gap between underground authenticity and accessibility and will distribute Vermin through JB Hi-Fi.”

To promote the launch of the second album, Thrall will be playing two exclusive shows in Sydney and Melbourne with New Zealand black doom rock band, Creeping. Thrall will be bringing the band's recently expanded four-piece live line up to Sydney for the first time, the current live line up including Leigh Ritson (ex-Disseminate) on bass and Ramez Bathish (ex-Whitehorse/ABC Weapons) on guitar. Full details of the shows are available here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Thrall Announces Album's North American Release

Moribund Records has announced the North American release date of Thrall's debut album, "Away From the Haunts of Men," as November 9th, 2010. Originally released overseas earlier this year by Total Holocaust Records, the North American edition of the album will include an exclusive bonus video for the track "Torrent of Death," which can also be viewed below.

The band commented on the release, "Thrall are pleased to collaborate with the legendary Moribund Cult for the North American edition of our debut album, Away from the Haunts of Men. We strive to spread our contagious virulence to all mankind!" More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Thrall Album To See North American Release

Australia's Thrall has issued the following brief update about the album "Away From the Haunts of Men" seeing a North American release via Moribund Records: "We are pleased to announce that Moribund Records will be releasing a North American edition of AFTHOM in late 2010 or early 2011. More information will come in time..." You can also check out Thrall's music via the band's MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

Thrall Finishes Recording New Album

Australia's Thrall has checked in with the following update about finishing the recording of the band's second full-length album:

"Recording for our 2nd album Vermin to the Earth was completed on July 25th. Guitars, bass, vocals and so on were recorded at The Gate by Trent Griggs May-July 2010. Drums were recorded at LM Studio by Ippei Suda 5th and 6th April 2010. We are very happy with the atmosphere and fidelity of the recording. Now the long wait for the final mix begins. In the meantime we will commence writing new material for an EP and a possible split release."

The "Vermin to the Earth" track listing is as follows:

1. Vermin to the Earth
2. Oblivion
3. Disease’s Maiming Caress
4. Plague of Man
5. Mass Extinction
6. Ecstasy not of the Flesh
7. Vita Vacuus Voluntas
8. Meus Quietus Nex

0 Comments - Discuss