"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Australia
Last Known Status: Disbanded

Latest Austere News

Below is our complete Austere news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Heretoir Streaming Austere Cover

Heretoir is streaming a cover of the Austere track "Just For a Moment," a vinyl-exclusive bonus track taken off the "Substanz" LP. Check it out belwo, and you can order the "Substanz" LP at this location. The track listing is as follows:

Side A:
1. Aura
2. Erwachen Im Dunkel
3. Ein Schrey In Die Nacht
4- Verblasst

Side B:
5. Ausgeburt
6. Herbstwind
7. Snow Colours
8. Just For A Moment (exclusive bonus)

0 Comments - Discuss

Austere Album To See Re-Issue

Austere's first album "Withering Illusions and Desolation" will see a re-issue via Eisenwald Records on October 29th, 2013. The following press release was issued about the coming re-issue:

"Originally released in 2007, Austere's 'Withering Illusions and Desolation' debut appeared seemingly out of nowhere and soon came to be considered a modern classic of suicidal, heartwrenching black metal.

"The duo's roots run deep in the enigmatic Australian black metal underground, but here on Withering Illusions and Desolation, Austere crafted hysterical yet hauntingly melodic epics of absolute anguish and utter despair, taking the foundation laid down by Burzum to new heights/depths.

"Now, at long last, a proper and final re-issue of this first Austere album arrives courtesy of Eisenwald, with new band-selected artwork, new mastering, and packaged in a six-panel digipack: their distant and desolate black metal has never been presented better."

1. Unending Night
2. ...Memories
3. The Dawn Remains Silent
4. Withering Illusions And Desolation
5. Coma More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Austere Streaming Instrumental Tracks

Australian black metal act Austere called it quits back in 2010, but member Tim Yatras has now uploaded several instrumental versions of tracks from the band's final full-length. Tim comments:

"For anyone interested I have uploaded instrumental mixes of the entire 'To Lay Like Old Ashes' album to Soundcloud. This is an earlier mix than what appeared on the final product, and it's interesting to hear some things that were lost in the final mix!"

You can hear all the tracks via Soundcloud, or hear several through the players available below. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Germ Posts Reworking Of Austere Song

Germ has posted an orchestral reworking online of the track "Just For A Moment" from the now-defunct band Austere, which broke up back in 2010. Listen to the song in the player below.

Unfortunately for Austere fans, the video also included a statement from Tim Yatras that "Austere will not be getting back together, so please don't get the wrong idea."

0 Comments - Discuss

Austere Calls It Quits

Depressive black metal band Austere recently called it quits. Here's the vague update from the band:

“It is with much sadness that today, May 19th, 2010, we announce the end of Austere. We would like to thank everyone who has helped and supported us over the years, and we hope you’ll continue to support us in our current and future endeavors.”

Tim Yatras and ‘D’ have two other bands on the go; black metal band Woods of Desolation and mellow rock band Grey Waters, while Mitchell Keepin is presumably focusing on Nazxul.

0 Comments - Discuss