"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


From: Faroe Islands
Last Known Status: Active


Heri Joensen has fronted Viking Metal band TÝR since 2002. In a quiet spell between TÝR albums, he has teamed up with four young musicians to release the debut of his solo-project HELJAREYGA. The self-titled debut album features five tracks of progressive metal with all-Faroese lyrics. Through the Eye of Hel we may travel to other worlds. Through the Eyes in the bedrock the Goddess of the Dead herself, the dread vision named Hel, may watch from her cold realm unto the world of men.

In the Faeroe Islands there are around fifteen “heljareyga”, meaning deep holes in the rock through which the surf is pushed on the high tide or in bad weather. Some are barely ten centimeters across and some are large enough to creep into and listen to the echoes of the sea.
Heri Joensen has spent three years writing all music and lyrics for HELJAREYGA. He wrote new
melodies for every track, as opposed to the music for his first band TÝR which is infused with traditional melodies and existing lyrics from ancient ballads.

Latest Heljareyga News

Below is our complete Heljareyga news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Heljareyga Announces Album Release

Heljareyga, which features Heri Joensen of Tyr, has issued the following announcement about releasing the band's debut self-titled album:

"We proudly announce that we have signed a distribution and booking contract for Europe (excl. Iceland, The Faeroes and Denmark) with Black Bards. Our debut album, self titled Heljareyga, will be available across Europe on the 29th of October, so mark that date in your calendar."

The album's track listing is as follows:

1. Regnið
2. Heljareyga
3. Lagnan
4. Feigdin
5. Vetrarbreytin

0 Comments - Discuss

Tyr Vocalist Announces New Solo Album

Vocalist Heri Joensen of Tyr has issued the following update about recording an album for a new solo project titled Heljareyga:

"My solo project was recorded very successfully in December and mixed and mastered in early January. It is still unclear when precisely the album will be released, but you can already hear a song on the Heljareyga MySpace. The album may be available for digital purchase and download at iTunes and other digital stores before it will be available in CD format. The album will be self titled and there is a title track also. The track list is as follows:

1. Regnið (9:00)
2. Heljareyga (10:27)
3. Lagnan (8:49)
4. Feigdin (8:43)
5. Vetrarbreytin (11:15)

"So just over 48 minutes playing time. All lyrics are in Faeroese, written but not translated in the booklet, so there's something for the linguistically interested to sink their teeth into. I am just now putting the final touches on the artwork with Jan Yrlund, and I hope you'll agree with me that he, along with the photographer Kristfríð Tyril, did an epic job again. Jan Yrlund is also working on a MySpace layout for the Heljareyga MySpace."

0 Comments - Discuss