"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: NY, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Flourishing News

Below is our complete Flourishing news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Flourishing Releasing New EP

Flourishing's new EP "Intersubjectivity," was recorded and mixed by the band at Sound City in the group's hometown of Brooklyn, NY. It was mastered by Agalloch bassist Jason Walton at Audio Savant, and the EP sees a November 13th release on The Path Less Traveled Records, the label that has released all of Flourishing's recordings to date, beginning with the 2010 debut EP, A "Momentary Sense of the Immediate World." The following press release was issued about the EP:

"Intersubjectivity carries forth where The Sum of All Fossils left off, further establishing the New York City band's command of its own signature sound. Here in full effect are drummer Brian Corcoran's primitive cadences and merciless blasts, bassist Eric Rizk's almighty 'G.C. Green' frequencies, and frontman Garett Bussanick's gut-wrenching vocal purges and astonishing guitar work.

"Once more we are transported to the cold factory setting evoked by The Sum of All Fossils -- an ominous, unsettling place, awash in ambient tones and mechanical repetition -- then launched suddenly skyward by transcendent melodic passages. The overriding effect is trance-like. The listener surrenders to the will of the music as it leads a tour of extreme depths and heights."

The track listing is:

1. A Living Sundial
2. The Petrifaction Lottery
3. Intersubjectivity More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Flourishing Issues Album Update

New York metal act Flourishing has issued the following update about recording a new full-length album:

"January 28th will see us begin tracking 8 songs that will make up our first full length. Good buddy Ryan Jones will be engineering in the cold, cluttered mess that is room A-4, or the 'studio.' No need to write a word about the music itself...how boring that would be. The only thoughts to share are that we are very much hoping the record will be performed, captured and realized in a justice serving way.

"And being that we're only about 2 weeks out from beginning means that this less than well-oiled machine needs practice. When any group of people ready for a recording session, one wonders if unrefined and unpracticed machines build audio character or just shitty music. It's been estimated that equal parts tightness, feel, and looseness tend to do nicely. If we may guess, our ratio appears favorable."

0 Comments - Discuss

Flourishing Reveals New EP Details

New York metallers Flourishing have announced that their debut EP "A Momentary Sense Of The Immediate World" will be released on March 30th, 2010 through Path Less Traveled Records. The track listing for the EP will be as follows:

1. Harvesting
2. Fixture
3. Watching Sparrows
4. Feeling So at Ease
5. Snake Charmer

The track "Feeling So at Ease" is currently available for streaming via the band's MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

Flourishing Reveals New Album Details

New York metallers Flourishing have completed work on their debut EP "A Momentary Sense Of The Immediate World," which is set to be released in 2010 by The Path Less Traveled Records. Flourishing is fronted by Wetnurse guitarist Garett Bussanick. The track “Feeling So At Ease" can currently be heard at the band's MySpace page.

"A Momentary Sense Of The Immediate World" was recorded by Matt Brown at Meteor Sound and mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music. The full track listing is as follows:

1. Harvesting
2. Fixture
3. Watching Sparrows
4. Feeling So At Ease
5. Snake Charmer

0 Comments - Discuss