"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Osla, Norway
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Mantric News

Below is our complete Mantric news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Mantric Streaming "FaithFaker"

Loyal Blood Records is proud to present “Sin,” the second album from Mantric, a progressive metal trio from Norway comprised of former members of Extol. Set for release on September 25, “Sin” follows the band’s debut album “The Descent” released in 2010 by Prosthetic Records.

"Sin" was recorded between Subsonic Society Studio with Tommy Akerholdt (Turbonegro) overseeing the drums/guitars tracking and Cipralexed Studio with Tor Magne Glidje handling bass, guitars, synths and vocals recordings. The nine-track album was later mixed and mastered by Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden in San Francisco.

Mantric today premieres a brand new track from “Sin” entitled “FaithFaker” - listen in via the SoundCloud player below. The "Sin" track listing is:

1. FaithFaker
2. On The Horizon
3. Give Me Eyes
4. Arrogance vs. Anxiety
5. Die Old
6. Maranatha
7. Anhedoniac
8. In The Shadow Of My Soul
9. Black Eyes More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mantric Commits Some "Sin"

Mantric is an experimental prog trio from Oslo, Norway comprised of three-fifths of Extol: vocalist/guitarist Ole Sveen, guitarist/vocalist Tor Glidje and bassist/vocalist John Mjåland.

The three have been playing together for more than 20 years now, first in progressive black-metal group Lengsel, then in prog-metal innovators Extol, having contributed to the band’s classic album “The Blueprint Dives,” before disbanding in 2007.

Formed in that same year, Mantric picks up where they left off on “The Blueprint Dives,” determined to push boundaries and avoid easy categorization. The band’s debut album under the name Mantric, “The Descent”, was released in 2010 and clearly reflects such unbreakable artistic vision, fusing a unique, experimental metal sound with some challenging and powerful proggy tones, though this new incarnation sounds more refined and cultivated than before.

Now five years later, Mantric is set to return with a second full-length titled “Sin," due out September 25, 2015. The track listing is: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mantric Releasing "Die Old" EP

Norwegian outfit Mantric has issued the following announcement about releasing the "Die Old" EP:

"We know you've been waiting five long years...and so have we. But here - finally - new material from Mantric! We're happy to announce that we have signed a deal with Bergen's hardcore-pride Loyal Blood Records, where they know what it's like making music with your heart, and not your ego nor your greedy wallet.

"Later this year, they'll give you the whole album, but first you'll get the three-song EP 'Die Old.' Slightly more poppy than most of the album, you'll get the cathcy rock-oriented title-track, a 70s prog rock track and a cove rsong of the Cardigans.

"Hints of both Swervedriver, Landberk, Lanny Kravitz, Led Zeppelin and harder rock might be found here, in just three tracks. If you don't want to wait until June 19th to hear it, order one of these new Mantric shirts NOW and get the EP download instantly here."

The title track to "Die Old" can now be heard in the player below, courtesy of MetalSucks.net. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Metality.net Releases Free Metal Compilation

METALITY.net, in cooperation with Metalhit.com, released their first digital compilation album, "METALITY - The Compilation." It's been out a while now, but free music is always worth passing on to our readers.

2. FOMENTO "The Die Is Cast"
3. NEOSIS "Unwilling Fate"
4. NERVECELL "Vicious Circle of Bloodshed"
5. NORTHER "Break Myself Away"
6. DEMONIC RESURRECTION "The Unrelenting Surge"
7. DAYLIGHT DIES "A Portrait in White"
8. SCARAB "War to End"
9. CiLiCE "Mental Breakdown"
10. EMPYREON "Beyond Perception"
11. MANTRIC "Symptoms"
13. DREAMSHADE "Our Buried Secrets"
14. CHROMIUM "All I Have"
15. BENEVOLENT "Haunting Shores"
16. A THOUSAND REASONS "Strength and Fight"
17. WARTHANE "Lord Oblivion"
18. VOICE OF THE SOUL "Farewell to Hope"
19. COAT OF ARMS "Ballad of the Mariner"
20. PAURA "Scars of Life"
21. BILOCATE "Inoculate"
22. CRESCENT "Jerusalem"
23. POST MORTEM "Whispers of Ages"
24. A SHOT OF ADRENALINE "The Human Plague"
25. DEPTH "Memento Mori"

There are three3 bonus tracks available on the download version of the album, including:
1. BLACKWELL "Deliverance"
2. KILL THE ROMANCE "Trespasser"

You can download the whole thing here, individual tracks here or preview them first on a player here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Mantric Streaming Entire New Album

Norwegian metal act Mantric, which features former members of Christian death metal band Extol, released their debut album "The Descent" today in the U.S. and yesterday in Europe. The entire "The Descent" album is currently available for streaming through MetalSucks.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Asylum 2013
2. Tower of Silence
3. Symptoms
4. The Invasion
5. Spear of Heaven
6. Cognitive Cocaine
7. Alihorn
8. Choice
9. Exorcism - In a Treacherous Kiss
10. Water Through Fire
11. Dark Passenger
12. Uro

0 Comments - Discuss

Mantric Posts New Song Online

Norway's MANTRIC has posted a new track, "The Invasion," from the band's debut album, "The Descent," which will be released across Europe on Monday and North America on Tuesday of next week, on PROSTHETIC RECORDS. Check out the track at the band's MySpace page.

MANTRIC, who rose from the ashes of Extol, will celebrate the release of the new album with a special album release show at the John Dee in Oslo on Monday 26th April.

0 Comments - Discuss

Mantric Reveals New Album Details

Norway's MANTRIC, formed from the ashes of EXTOL, have set the release date for their debut album, "The Descent," which will be issued on Prosthetic Records worldwide. The album will hit the streets on April 27th in North America and April 26th in the rest of the world. The album cover artwork has also been unveiled.

MANTRIC's vocalist and guitarist Ole Sveen commented, "Our first album using the Mantric-name does to our ears deserve to get out to lovers of hard music all over the world. Our music embraces creativity and originality outside the limits of narrow genres...This is a release that is both accessible and original, catchy and complex at the same time, and we can't wait to get it out!".

0 Comments - Discuss

Mantric Signs To Prosthetic Records

Norwegian progressive metal band Mantric, the band that formed from members of Extol, has signed to Prosthetic Records, and have now posted a song, entitled "Spear of Heaven," from their debut-album (released in feb 2010) on their MySpace page. The mix is being done by Tue Madsen in Antfarm Studios in Denmark. The artwork for the album was created by Jesse Zuretti, guitarist of New Jersey's The Binary Code. More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss