"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Portland, OR, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Darkblack News

Below is our complete Darkblack news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Darkblack Gearing Up For West Coast Tour

Portland act Darkblack is preparing for the band's upcoming eight-show West Coast tour, which kicks off this Wednesday, in celebration of the new "Midnight Wraith" EP to be released the same day. The updated details of the "Midnight Wraith" tour are as follows:

12/1/2010 The Black Lodge - Seattle, WA w/ Skelator, Emeralds, Elk’s Blood
12/2/2010 house show - Seattle, WA w/ Throne of Bone
12/3/2010 Kelly's Olympian - Portland, OR [CD release show] w/ Spellcaster, Dead By Dawn
12/4/2010 Bender's - San Francisco, CA w/ Huntress, Walken
12/5/2010 The Hazmat (Your Hause) - Oakland, CA w/ Dodsfalla, Bruxers, Infernal Graves, Drunken Hardcore
12/6/2010 Cinespace - Los Angeles, CA w/ Huntress, Gypsyhawk
12/8/2010 The Gup - Eugene, OR w/ Excruciator
12/9/2010 The Know - Portland, OR w/ Nux Vomica

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkblack Reveals New EP Details

Northwestern U.S. act Darkblack has just put the finishing touches on the band's new "Midnight Wraith" EP. The EP was recorded at Revolver Studios by Nalin Silva, and the opening track "Doom Herald" is available for streaming at this location. The "Midnight Wraith" EP track listing is as follows:

1. Doom Herald
2. Power Monger
3. Golden Idol
4. Midnight Wraith
5. Broken Oath

"Midnight Wraith" will be released on December 1st, 2010 via San Jose, California-based Stormspell Records. Darkblack also has the following upcoming tour dates: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

DarkBlack Streaming New Song

Portland's DarkBlack has issued the following announcement about streaming a new song online from the band's upcoming EP:

"Just posted a song from the new EP coming out on Stormspell records just in time for the holiday heavy metal record buying season. Give it a listen and let us know what you think unless you've got something negative to say in which case you can cram it with walnuts. Also, come and hang with us dudes if you live in select parts of Washington, Oregon, or California when we tour in early December."

The new song "Doom Herald" can be heard through the band's MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

DarkBlack Issues Band Update

Portland, Oregon's DarkBlack has checked in with the following update about releasing a new EP and scheduling new tour dates:

"We'll never lay down our axes! Although we are currently drummer-less, we have a new 5-song EP coming out on Stormspell Records in mid-November. We're more than happy to be working with Iordan again seeing as though he goes out of his way to help the bands on his fine label. As well as being our finest material to date, it's also our greatest sounding output.

"Also, we are scheduled to tour the West Coast during the first week of December. Our old friend and original drummer, Carl will be joining us on drums once again! And we'll be playing with some great friends and bands along the way and we're stoked! More info on the way!"

0 Comments - Discuss

DarkBlack Checks In With Recording Update

Portland, Orgeon's DarkBlack has checked in with the following announcement about recording new material the band's original drummer:

"Dudes, Carl the LA Gear (our original drummer) came up from Los Angeles last weekend to play one power mean set with us and then recorded three tracks for our next EP. Burritos were eaten and drums were raged upon. You'll get to hear it soon... sooner still if you've got a record label that wants to give some cool dudes a break. Anyway, carl rules. Later."

You can also check out DarkBlack's music via the band's MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

DarkBlack Splits With Drummer

Portland, Oregon based metal act DarkBlack has officially parted ways with drummer Eben Travis. The band only issued the following brief comment about the split: "Dudes, Eben is moving on to other things so we say to our main man 'thanks, bro.'" No information on a replacement has been made available yet.

Sample DarkBlack songs are available for streaming via the band's MySpace page, and you can catch DarkBlack live on the following date:


0 Comments - Discuss

DarkBlack Recruits New Bassist

Portland based metal act DarkBlack has issued the following statement about recruiting a new bassist:

"We've added a new warrior to our Metal Force! We are very happy to announce, that our good friend Cliff will be taking over bass guitar duties for DarkBlack. Tim in turn will be working solely the vocal end of things from now on with Cliff raging on the bass! Check out the new feel, live at Berbati's Pan in PDX on February 19th with the Lord Weird Slough Feg!"

DarkBlack are currently streaming three songs online through their MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkblack Signs To StormSpell Records

Portland, Oregon traditional metal squadron DARKBLACK recently inked a deal with California's StormSpell Records. Said the band of the union, "StormSpell is currently in the midst of waging an unending, seemingly pitched battle against the followers of the False Metal Gods (more or less weakling usurpers). We now, with our newest allies, raise our weapons of war to the sky! DARKBLACK will be the vanguard for this righteous cleansing of the weak, uninspired and mediocrity that plagues our world! StormSpell Records are true believers in the true Underground Heavy Metal movement!"

The band recently unleashed their debut full-length, "Sellsword," featuring over 49 minutes of music fit for true heavy metal believers. You can view the striking cover art by Halseycaust (Toxic Holocaust etc.) here.

Here is the complete "Sellsword" track listing:

1. Sword Of The Morning
2. Icy Tomb Of Time
3. Down From The Mountain
4. Sellsword
5. Dark Apostle
6. Ancient Stone Sentinel
7. ... With Lightning Speed
8. Breath Of Fire
9. Flame Forest

Upcoming DARKBLACK live performances are as follows:

9/14/2009 The Josephine - Seattle, WA w/ Christian Mistress, Elk's Blood, Milk Music
9/15/2009 The Northern - Olympia, WA w/ Christian Mistress, Sonskull
9/16/2009 Plan B - Portland, OR w/ Christian Mistress, Salted City

You can check out some of Darkblack's music on their MySpace player.

0 Comments - Discuss