"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Australia
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Lycanthia News

Below is our complete Lycanthia news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Hypnotic Dirge Records Offering Free Compilation

Hypnotic Dirge Records is today presenting a new free digital download compilation album, titled "Subarctic Nocturnes: Doomed to Be [Volume 1]." The label comments:

"This year, we are releasing something more comprehensive than ever before, with a compilation trilogy series which will have a different genre focus on each volume and which we will release over the course of the next few months. We are extremely pleased to unveil the first album in this series now, with a focus on all things doom!

"Within this volume, you will find a collection of amazing artists at the forefront of the global doom scene, both Hypnotic Dirge bands and guests from other bands around the world. The selections on this release were carefully chosen to show some of our favourite bands including doom veterans and newcomers alike. Melodic Death-Doom, Gothic Doom, and Sludge Doom can all be found within this compilation so it is quite diverse and hopefully shows a careful balance between all these sounds."

Download at this location or stream all the songs below. The full track listing is:

1. Altars of Grief - The Plague that Haunts the Darkness
2. Orphans of Dusk - Nibelheim
3. Norilsk - Planète heurt
4. Psychotic Gardening - Searing Cital
5. Lavagoat - Ageless Nonsense
6. Nethermost - Weald Reams
7. Lycanthia - The Harbinger
8. Evadne - Colossus
9. Human Collapse - Deep
10. Enshine - Above Us
11. Atten Ash - The Hourglass
12. Woccon - Wandering More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Lycanthia Streaming New Song

Australian gothic/doom band Lycanthia is streaming the track "Forgone" from its newest album "Oligarchy," which was released a short time ago. "Oligarchy" was mastered at Fascination Street Studios by Jens Bogren. Lycanthia is arguably the longest running doom band currently active from that country, having formed in 1996. The six-piece band makes its home in Sydney and has another song, "Within the Walls" from its previous album, streaming over at Reverbnation.

0 Comments - Discuss

Rise of Avernus Posts New Song Online

Sydney-based gothic metal band Rise of Avernus recently uploaded their first piece of material, “Forbidden Sin.” Featuring ex-Black Horizon vocalist Cat Guirguis, Lycanthia drummer Andrew Craig, and Stodowa guitarist Ben Vanvollenhoven, the track is a hint at what to expect on their upcoming EP release "In Frailty," which is currently being recorded and due out in early 2011.

The new track is streaming online on their Facebook page.

The band is currently on the lookout for a bassist and second guitarist, and interested candidates can get in touch via metal-muse(at)hotmail.com.

1 Comment - Discuss

Paradise Lost Cancels Australian Tour Dates

Australian metal band Lycanthia has issued the following update:

"Unfortunately we have bad news. The Paradise Lost and Sirenia Australian Tour has been cancelled."

"Lycanthia will be playing @ The Lansdowne Hotel, Sydney, 10 April 2010 (free entry) @ Club Carnage, Kings X, 2 July 2010..."

0 Comments - Discuss

Lycanthia Begins Recording Album

Austrailia gothic death metal band Lycanthia has issued the following update:

"We have had a few line-up changes since you last saw us live adding 'Jennifer McCaffrie' on vocals and keyboard and also 'Vanessa Black' on Violin, vocals and flute. We are currently in the process of recording a new full length CD. This new CD will also feature ex-member 'Samantha Kempster' performing violin along side Vanessa creating a rich harmony. Also at this same time we are demoing a ton of new tracks for its follow up CD. We are spending a lot of time jamming and getting our sound tight with the new line up as yes we have plans to return to the stage but not until we are ready." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss