"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Mortiferous Scorn

From: IA, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Mortiferous Scorn News

Below is our complete Mortiferous Scorn news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Mortiferous Scorn Offering New Album For Download

Mortiferous Scorn's new ten track album "Mental Anarchy" is now available online to download for free via Facebook here. The artwork is available below, and the track listing is as follows:

1. Mental Anarchy
2. Bottom Feeder
3. Devolution
4. Living Casualty
5. Frozen
6. Domain
7. Misery Stained
8. Hollow Deity
9. The Joker Effect
10. Suspentia More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mortiferous Scorn Comments On Debut Album

Alex Oden of Mortiferous Scorn has checked in with the following update about re-releasing the band's debut album:

“I was checking out Mortiferous Scorn’s Myspace page one day, listening to the music files and making sure they were all still playing without any glitches. When I went from anything off of the albums 'Schizophrenic Revelations' or 'The Perfect Impurity' to 'Rotting' I noticed a huge difference in the quality of the music. 'Rotting' just didn’t fit in and I didn’t feel the album represented Mortiferous Scorn’s music in a good way.

"My biggest fear was that a new fan or someone looking for new music would get to the Mortiferous Scorn Myspace page and choose a song from 'Rotting' and be instantly uninterested due to the low sound quality. 'Rotting' was the first album I recorded and needless to say it sounds pretty raw. The past year a lot of people online have been requesting the album so I am seriously considering re-releasing it.

"I might clean the album up a bit with some EQ, but other than that it will be the original brutal ten song beast. It will definitely be a listen at your own risk album for fans of ‘80’s style underground death metal. We will keep you updated in the coming months on any new info and a possible re-release date for Mortiferous Scorn’s debut album 'Rotting.'"

0 Comments - Discuss


Pit Stories: Ranch Bowl Rafter Party

We've been talking to bands and fans everywhere to get their favorite mosh pit stories. This week our Pit Story comes from Alex Oden of Black Epiphany and Mortiferous Scorn. Alex shared the following tale of fans taking the party just a bit too far at the Ranch Bowl in Omaha:

I think the craziest thing I’ve ever seen in concert was at this club in Omaha called the Ranch Bowl. I’m on stage and I look up and there were kids jumping on stage running around and diving off. At one point there must have been ten or fifteen kids on stage running into us and everything on stage.

I had to guard my amp and guitars from them while still trying to play music. Finally some security got up there and started getting the majority of the fans off the stage. Then towards the end of that same show I looked out into the middle of the mosh pit and see a guy hanging from the rafters on the ceiling. The Ranch Bowl in Omaha was by far my favorite place to play.

Black Epiphany is currently in the process of recording a new full-length album. You can also download the band's "Mocking the Dead" album for free at this location. Alex Oden also recently conducted an interview with Metalunderground.com, which can be found here.

Be sure to check back every Tuesday for more pit stories.

0 Comments - Discuss

Black Epiphany Offering Debut Album For Free

Iowa based act Black Epiphany, which features Mortiferous Scorn's Alexander Oden, is currently offering the debut album "Mocking the Dead" as a free download. You can download all the tracks from the band's debut offering at this location.

Alexander Oden also recently issued the following update about writing new material for Black Epiphany:

"Ten new songs have been written for the upcoming Black Epiphany album. All bass and guitar tracks have been recorded. Work on vocals and various instruments will continue throughout the winter. I think this album is going to be a huge step forward from the first Black Epiphany album as far as production is concerned. This is definitely the most diverse sounding album I’ve ever created. The heavy guitars and riffs are still there but the soundscape will be more textured."

0 Comments - Discuss

Mortiferous Scorn Offering Free Album Downloads

Iowa based solo death metal act Mortiferous Scorn is currently offering three albums as free MP3 downloads. All the tracks from the "Masochistic Therapy," "Schizophrenic Revelations," and "The Perfect Impurity" albums can be downloaded at this location. You can also check out sample Mortiferous Scorn tracks through the band's official MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss


Unearthing The Solo Metal Underground Part 2

Each week in "Unearthing the Metal Underground," we spotlight a few quality unsigned bands in an attempt to spread the word and expose acts that make the underground great. This week we’re returning again to the realm of solo extreme metal to uncover three more one-man bands.

Unlike our last foray into the world of solo musicians, these three groups aren’t restricted entirely to the black metal style. Instead we’ll be covering a wide range of musical projects that showcase how creativity and professional musicianship can flourish in the unlimited freedom of a solo band. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mortiferous Scorn Streaming New Songs Online

Iowa based death metal band Mortiferous Scorn is currently streaming three new tracks from the upcoming album "Schizophrenic Revelations." The songs "Into The Unknown," "Fictional Guilt," and "My Ascent" can be heard on the band's official MySpace page. The album is currently set for a March 31st release date.

0 Comments - Discuss