"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 2004
From: Madrid, Spain
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Hybrid News

Below is our complete Hybrid news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Hybrid Streaming Entire New Album

"Angst," the second full-length from Madrid-based experimental extreme metal trio Hybrid, is now available through Deepsend Records. Hybrid was born in 2004 with the intention of setting up an unorthodox extreme music project without self-impossed limits.

The band recorded Beyond Undeniable Entropy in 2005 as a presentation, a six song debut MCD of avant-garde, eclectic and technical metal, released the next year by Deadwrong Records, which got a great response within the underground scene. Stream this entire sophomore album from the band in its entirety below, or over at bandcamp.

In the beginning of 2007 Hybrid entered Sadman Studio to record its first full length album "The 8th Plague," mastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon, The Dillinger Escape Plan) and with artwork by Seldon Hunt (Neurosis, Isis), which was released by London-based label Eyesofsound (Bossk, Yakuza) in August 2008. "The 8th Plague" received an outstanding reception worldwide, as it was selected one of the best albums of the year in several specialized media.

After playing live with bands like Tool and Cephalic Carnage, Hybrid went back to the studio in 2011 and recorded its sophomore album "Angst," settling their unique approach to the genre while taking their sound one step further in terms of creative freedom.

0 Comments - Discuss

Hybrid Streaming New Track

Spanish experimental metallers HYBRID have signed with Deepsend Records to release their
sophomore album Angst on April 30th in North America. The album was produced by founding member and drummer Chus Maestro, mixed at Sadman Studios (Wormed) and mastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon, The Dillinger Escape Plan). "Angst is the follow-up to Hybrid's acclaimed 2008 debut "The 8th Plague." Below is the tracklisting of "Angst," with the cover art featured in the upload of the track "Flesh Fusion Threshold" afterwards.

1. Flesh Fusion Threshold
2. Enter The Void
3. Collapse To None
4. Self-Implosion
5. Cuando El Destino Nos Alcance
6. Angst-Ridden Inertia
7. Doomed To Failure

0 Comments - Discuss

Eternal Rest And Hybrid To Release New Albums

Deepsend Records has issued the following year-end statement and announcement about upcoming new albums from Hybrid, Eternal Rest, and more:

"Thanks to everyone who helped make 2012 the best year yet for Deepsend Records. Your support is essential to continue to release killer records for years to come. If you ordered from us, bought a record at a fest from us, bought a record of ours at a store, we thank you. If you didn't, hopefully we can hook up along the way this year.

"We've got a stack of new releases already planned and probably quite a few more. 2013 is gonna start off with a bang with releases from Eternal Rest and Hybrid. We can't wait for you to hear these new records. Such great bands and dudes. Below is the confirmed releases for 2013. Stay tuned and Happy New Year!" More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Hybrid Announces New Lineup

Spain's Hybrid underwent some major line-up changes just after the release of "The 8th Plague" with all their members departing except founding member, Chus Maestro. Over the past few months Chus has rebuilt the band bringing in Rafa Fernández on Vocals, Iván Durán on Guitar, Iago Fuentes on Bass and Antonio Sánchez on Guitar. Their Next show is on 17th June with Misery Index at Ritmo & Compás in Madrid, Spain.

0 Comments - Discuss

Hybrid Reveals New Album Art and Tracklisting

HYBRID, formed during 2004 in Madrid, is an avant-garde extreme metal band that mix brutal death metal, black metal, doom, crust, grindcore and even latin, bossa nova and crazy free jazz.

"The 8th Plague" is the band's much anticipated debut full length and features eight songs linked by an apocalyptic conceptual thread that represents human self destruction told through the stages of an insect's metamorphosis.

Here is the tracklisting for "The 8th Plague":

I Ovum: alienation
01- Hundred Years Ocean
02- Soul Prolapse
03- Sleep Of The Defeated
II Larva: narcotization
04- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
05- Sun Burnt
III Chrysallis: transformation
IV Imago: obliteration
07- The Omega Swarm
08- Ashes Of Babylon

Mastered by Alan Douches (Suffocation, Mastodon, The Dillinger Escape Plan) "The 8th Plague" will be unleashed on 08/08/08 and is essential listening for fans of Cephalic Carnage, Meshuggah, Textures and Ion Dissonance.

The artwork, which can be viewed here, is courtesy of Seldon Hunt (Neurosis, Isis, Melvins).

0 Comments - Discuss