"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Formed: 2002
From: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Talamyus News

Below is our complete Talamyus news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Talamyus To Release New Album This Spring

Canadian melodic death metal act Talamyus will issue the new album "Honour Is Our Code, Death Is The Reward" on April 12th via Deathbound Records.

With a new solidified lineup, Talamyus mixes in new influences from bands like Dissection and Enslaved, and carries with it a stylistic shift from death/thrash metal to melodic black metal, all while retaining that familiar viking flavor.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Victory or Valhalla
2. Blood Eagle
3. Loki's Punishment
4. Hall of the Bravest Souls
5. Honour to Wotan
6. Nine Nights (Odin's Sacrifice)
7. Abode of Myst (Instrumental)
8. Jörmungand
9. Bring the Weak to Their Knees
10. I Bow to No Man
11. Until Death, We Ride More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Talamyus Signs To Deathbound Records

Deathbound Records is proud to announce the signing of Montreal viking horde Talamyus.

Formed in 2002 by brothers Benoit and Dany St-Jean, the band has vowed to bring the viking metal sound to a Montreal scene where it was all but absent. With three solid albums under it's belt, Talamyus combines the epic atmosphere of Amon Amarth, the melody of Iron Maiden and the thrashing power of Kreator. Talamyus infuses old school riffs with modern ferocity and edge.

The band has played support slots and toured alongside the likes of Moonsorrow, Augury, Kataklysm, Tyr, Destruction and 1349 just to name a few. The band has added depth to their lineup with the addition of Étienne Gallo (Augury, Catuvolcus, Hands of Despair, ex-Aborted) on drums.

With this new solidified personnel, the band is now preparing to release the fourth full-length album, "Honour is our Pride, Death is the Reward" through Deathbound Records. Mixing in new influences like Dissection and Enslaved, it will carry a stylistic shift from death/thrash metal to melodic black metal, all while retaining the familiar viking flavor.

"We are sure old and new Talamyus fans will be pleased with the direction we have chosen to take for the next album", comments guitarist/vocalist and co-founder Benoît St-Jean. "It will still have the Talamyus feel, but with an altered atmosphere. We are very eager to share it with you all!"

The first single for their upcoming album will be release soon. Stay tuned for more information. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Talamyus Recording New Album

Montreal's Talamyus recently completed the writing process for a new album, and now the band has issued the following update about hitting the recording studio:

"Greetings fellows metal heads, we will be busy for a couple of months entering the studio to present you our 4th release! It does not mean you will not hear from us, in fact we will keep you aware of any news and activities for this record!"

This new release will follow previous album "Raven's Call to Annihilation," with further details forthcoming. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Talamyus Streaming Songs From Latest Album

Montreal Viking thrash act Talamyus has posted several tracks online from the band's "Raven's Call to Annihilation" album. You can listen to the songs via Reverbnation, or check out the track "The Dead Will Walk the Earth" in the player below.


Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Talamyus Releases New Album

Canadian viking thrash band Talamyus has a new album, "Raven's Call to Annihilation," and has uploaded the title track of it to YouTube. Talamyus is also streaming other material from the new album and two of it's other releases on it's Bandcamp page. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Kalmah Finally Delivers Finnish Metal To Canada

Although it’s a decent, smaller venue, something was clearly wrong with the sound quality at the Théatre Plaza on April 28, when Kalmah, Talamyus and WarCall came on Kalmah’s first-ever tour for this continent.

I’m not a sound technician, yet this is a problem I’m not as willing to attribute to the bands, as to the location, the equipment, the set-up, or something of that nature. The middle of Kalmah’s show offers an example of this issue, as the bass started producing an annoying, droning feedback – quite noticeable as I was stationed in front of Timo Lehtinen. Pekka Kokko had to stop the show and call for assistance, leading the audience into a shout of his new favorite curse word, “tabarnak!”

WarCall, a local band (from Montreal), opened the night and they were definitely sub-par, at least compared with the headliner. Their music was of a progressive nature that caused the mind to wander, and I ended up getting sucked into the saga of a large, drunk man harassing the bartender who waved water in his face, in vain.

Another Montreal act, Talamyus, picked up the crowd and got everyone thrashing about and ready for Kalmah. Even from closer to the back of the venue, where the sound is typically of a better grade, something was a little off in the performance of Talamyus, who did not manage to achieve their studio-quality sound. I don’t really enjoy admitting that, as I find this to be a talented and innovative group. They tackle Viking themes from a more brutal perspective than fans commonly see, tossing in old-school death metal growls more suggestive of earlier Amon Amarth work than melodic, folk-driven music.

The most recent release, “In These Days of Violence,” got a good deal of attention, and “God Of War” and “Conviction” were my favorite songs from their setlist.

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Kalmah Reveal "For The Revolution" Track Listing

Finnish metallers KALMAH have finalized the track listing for their fifth full-length album, "For the Revolution", due on April 2 via Spikefarm Records. The CD was recorded at Tico Tico studio in Kemi, Finland with producer Ahti Kortelainen and was mastered at the Cutting Room in Sweden.

"For the Revolution" track listing:

01. For the Revolution
02. Dead Man's Shadow
03. Holy Symphony of War
04. Wings of Blackening
05. Ready for Salvation
06. Towards the Sky
07. Outremer
08. Coward
09. Like a Slave More...

Read more...  |  8 Comments - Discuss

Kalmah Announce More Canadian Dates

Finnish metallers KALMAH have confirmed the venues for their upcoming "For The Revolution" tour of Canada. The band's itinerary is as follows:

23 - Toronto, ON at Wreckroom
24 - Hamilton, ON at Club Absinthe
25 - Sudbury, ON at The Serbian centre
26 - Rouyn, QC at Petit Théatre du vieux-Noranda
27 - Saint-Hyacinthe at Bar le Thrash
28 - Montréal, QC at Théatre Plaza
30 - Saint-Hyacinthe, QC at L’Anti

Montréal-based metallers TALAMYUS are confirmed as support on all dates.

2 Comments - Discuss