"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1988
From: Russia
Last Known Status: Disbanded

Latest Aspid News

Below is our complete Aspid news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Lost Aspid Album Reissued On CD

'Extravasation', a long-lost gem from Russian thrash group Aspid, has been released for the first time on CD. Prior to now, only a very small number of vinyl copies and some very low-budget tapes were ever released, both close to impossible to find. Aspid were only together as a band for a few short years in the early '90s, recording their debut full-length, entitled 'Krovoyziliyanie' (meaning 'Extravasation' in English), in 1992. All the ingredients were there for a very successful career; musicianship, production, vision, and great songwriting. Unfortunately, Aspid soon disbanded after releasing only a tiny number of vinyls and tapes of 'Extravasation', resulting in the album and band vanishing before having a chance to be widely heard.

Stigmartyr Records in conjunction with ant[ICON] Laboratories obtained permission to reissue the album, which has been remastered for the CD format. 'Extravasation' is an epic, theatrical exercise in progressive thrash excellence which leads listeners on a dynamic journey with constant pace shifts, tight musicianship, impressive production, a crushing guitar tone, strong vocal performance and brilliant bass-work. Fans of progressive/technical thrash such as Coroner, Voivod, Mekong Delta and so on are especially likely to enjoy the CD.

The 2007 reissue of Aspid's 'Extravasation' includes all 8 original tracks, coming through at almost 45-minutes, and includes the original cover artwork which has been refined and enhanced, in addition to brand new full-colour internal layout, including a 6-page booklet featuring a band photo, considerable liner notes and more.

Some of this can be seen at the official Aspid MySpace page, and the album itself can be purchased from Stigmartyr Records. Four tracks can be heard on the bands' MySpace player, and the tracklisting for 'Extravasation' is as follows:

1. Intro
2. It Came (Aspid)
3. Towards One Goal
4. Give Me (Play For A Ballet)
5. Hey, You!
6. Where The Night
7. Comatose State
8. Extravasation

2 Comments - Discuss