"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: unknown
Last Known Status: Unknown

Latest Lard News

Below is our complete Lard news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Al Jourgensen To Remain With Revolting Cocks

Following the release of 2006's star-studded "Cocked and Loaded," the Revolting Cocks (RevCo) will be releasing "Sex-O Olympic-O" on March 3rd, 2009. RevCo founding member Al Jourgensen is clearing up, once and for all, the rumors surrounding the band's future. "Much like Menudo does or the Blue Man Group, I was going to hand the band over to this younger generation of RevCo's, to Sin [Quirin/guitars], Josh [Bradford/vocals] and Clayton [Worbeck/keyboards], kind of franchise it out. I think that these three knuckleheads capture the true essence and spirit of being 'a Revolting Cock,' if you will. But, this album turned out so damned good, I think I'm going to stick around for a while."

"This is the best RevCo album I've ever done," Al continued. "As a matter of fact, I think this is the best album - including Ministry, Pailhead, Lard - anything I've ever done, period. Production-wise, song-wise, I'm really, really happy with this record. It's the first CD I've ever gotten back from the mastering studio that I didn't have anything to bitch about. No complaints. I listened to the whole thing and just went, 'OK, that's a wrap. Let's go'!" More...

Read more...  |  9 Comments - Discuss

Black Light Burns Posts Two New Songs Online

Black Light Burns has streamed two tracks, "Lucretia My Reflection" and "So Alive," from their upcoming album of covers, remixes and other unreleased tracks on their MySpace page. The track listing for the album titled "Cover Your Heart and the anvil Pants Odyssey," which is due out on August 5th, includes:

1. Forkboy (Lard)
2. So Alive (Love And Rockets)
3. Hungry Like The Wolf (Duran Duran)
4. Lucretia My Reflection (Sisters Of Mercy)
5. Rid Of Me (PJ Harvey)
6. The Art Of Self Defense (Jesus Lizard)
7. On The Bound (Fiona Apple)
8. I Am The Sun (Swans)
9. Blood Red Head On Fire (Bigdumbface)
10. Search And Destroy (Iggy and the Stooges)
11. Drowning Together Dying Alone (unreleased ‘Cruel Melody instrumental)
12. Giving In Again (unreleased ‘Cruel Melody instrumental)
13. Failing (unreleased ‘Cruel Melody‘ instrumental)
14. Mesopotamia (Assyrian Mix)
15. Lie (Seth Vogt Club Mix)

2 Comments - Discuss

Ministry Frontman: 'We're Going Out With Class!'

While some of us don't even know what we'll be doing next week, Al Jourgensen has the next two years of his life all mapped out.

Last week, Ministry's final studio opus, The Last Sucker, the scathing third installment in Jourgensen's trilogy of LPs attacking President Bush's administration, landed in record stores. In March, he'll hit the road for the last time with Ministry, the band he's fronted since he formed it in 1981, for a tour that will last five months. But before that, he has to hit the studio and record Got Co--?, the studio-album swan song from his side project the Revolting Co--s. In October, the Co--s will head out on what will be their goodbye tour, with openers Prong and Mob Research, the latest signing to Jourgensen's label, 13th Planet Records.

"I am systematically going through and putting all of my side projects to bed over the next couple of years, and then, I'll strictly concentrate on production, running the label and doing soundtracks and a lot of other weird stuff," Jourgensen said, adding that there will be future, all-culminating collections from Lard and Pailhead too. "Then I'll do Buck Satan & the 666 Shooters, a country record I've been talking about for 20 years — once you see the Buck Satan album come out, then you know I'm completely done recording."

After that, Jourgensen said he'll finally get a chance to relax.

"I'm an all-or-nothing guy," he explained. "When I'm working, I work, work, work, work, work, and when I'm not, I'm the laziest sloth this planet has ever provided us. In about two or three years, I'll go full guns, but then I'll sit on my porch with a shotgun and my hound dog and chase kids off my lawn. I'll just sit back, in my 'Sopranos' bathrobe and slippers, going out to the mailbox, picking up checks and kicking back."

But why put Ministry on the slab after all these years? Well, Jourgensen doesn't think the Republicans stand a chance in the upcoming elections, and when there's a Democrat in power, "I think we suck," he admitted. But much more than that, he wanted out before he was dragged out.

Read the full article at MTV News.

1 Comment - Discuss