"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Formed: 1971
From: Oakville, Canada
Last Known Status: Active


Saga is a progressive rock quintet, formed in Oakville, Ontario, Canada. Bassist-keyboardist Jim Crichton (born February 26, 1947) and Welsh-born vocalist Michael Sadler (born July 5, 1947) have been the principal songwriters for Saga. Ian Crichton (born August 3, 1948) is the band's guitarist; apart from his work with Saga, he has recorded several solo albums as well as sessions with Asia. The band's keyboardist, Jim "Daryl" Gilmour (born February 25, 1948), replaced Greg Chadd in 1980 (Chadd replaced original member Peter Rochon--who left the band to become a full-time music equipment company executive--after the first album).
After the 2003 Marathon tour, Steve Negus (b. February 19, 1947) announced his retirement as Saga's original drummer. Christian Simpson, a Canadian-American, replaced Negus for 2004's Network album, until sidelined by a neurological condition that affected his drumming. In late 2005, former Helix member Brian Doerner became Saga's third drummer in as many years. Doerner suffered a heart attack in 2007 and was replaced by Chris Sutherland (of the Kim Mitchell Band) for the 10,000 Days Tour and Contact DVD. Lead singer Michael Sadler left Saga for family reasons at the end of the 2007 tour. Rob Moratti replaced Sadler in April 2008, after an Internet talent search, spanning Europe and both Americas, failed to yield a potential lead vocalist. Brian Doerner completed tracks for the band's 2009 release but will, once again, be replaced by Chris Sutherland due to health reasons.

Below is a summary of Saga coverage and information on Metal Underground.com.