"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Norway
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Griffin News

Below is our complete Griffin news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

Griffin Post Demo Sample Online

Norwegian heavy metal band GRIFFIN has uploaded a demo sample of a track that will be included on its upcoming fifth album, entitled "The Ultimate Demise". The band says: "No solos here, and the sound is not too good, but you'll hear that we're moving towards a harder expression." Check it out at this location.

GRIFFIN's new CD is being engineered by Rune Stavnesli and produced by Andy LaRocque (KING DIAMOND). A nearly 2007 release via an as-yet-undetermined label is expected.

GRIFFIN released its fourth full-length album, entitled "Lifeforce", in August 2005 via Massacre Records. The Japanese and European editions of the album contained a bonus track called "Unforgiver", featuring Andy LaRocque on lead guitar.

GRIFFIN, who enlisted vocalist Rolf Bakken to front the group following the departure of Pete Beck, supported KING DIAMOND on a European tour in May and June.

0 Comments - Discuss

King Diamond Announce European Support Acts

KING DIAMOND have announced the opening bands for their upcoming European tour, which is scheduled to take place in April/May 2006. The Scandinavian leg of the tour will feature LOCH VOSTOK and SECRET SPHERE, while support on the rest of the trek will come from GRIFFIN and one more as-yet-undisclosed act. Exact cites and dates will be announced soon.

As previously reported, vocalist King Diamond and guitarist Andy LaRocque are currently writing songs for the next KING DIAMOND album for a tentative 2006 release.

KING DIAMOND earlier in the year completed a U.S. tour with NILE, BEHEMOTH and THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER. The band's latest studio album, "The Puppet Master", was released in 2003. A live CD, "Deadly Lullabyes Live", followed last year.

0 Comments - Discuss

Griffin Frontman Steps Down

Norwegian metallers GRIFFIN have posted the following message on their official web site:

"Due to personal reasons, Pete [Beck, vocals] won’t be able to join us for the upcoming festival appearances in Norway! Pete recently did the release concert for 'Lifeforce' with us, and did a great job. He also did a video shoot for the song 'Utopia' before he decided to step down. His condition right now is not suited for the rockin' and rollin' we're gonna do this summer. This doesn’t mean we're cancelling anything... GRIFFIN never cancels! We promise you all that the quality of our performances will not be affected by this... unless you have a fetish for guys with beards. A longtime friend of the band, and a former bandmate of Pete, will handle the vocals for the forthcoming gigs. We will shortly introduce him properly. And we know that he’s really anxious to introduce himself. We've always wanted to have a steady line-up, because we feel that this would give the band an identity, but we've come to learn that the MUSIC gives this band identity AND credibility. So…..watch this space for further info, check out the HIGHLY critically acclaimed album entitled 'Lifeforce', and rest assured that we WILL deliver the goods wherever we play! Thanx for your support!"

GRIFFIN's fourth full-length album, "Lifeforce", is available now on FaceFront Records. The Japanese edition of the album will contain a bonus track called "Unforgiver", featuring KING DIAMOND's Andy LaRocque on lead guitar.

The follow-up to last year's "No Holds Barred" was recorded at Godt Selskap studios in Trondheim, Norway and was mixed by LaRoque at his Los Angered Studio in Gothenburg, Sweden. Audio samples of the tracks "Utopia", "Dungeon", "Premonition", "Moment of Madness", "Building A Future" and "Accelerate" can be downloaded at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

"Armageddon Over Wacken Live 2004" Details

Armageddon Music have announced a March 21 release date for the "Armageddon Over Wacken Live 2004" 3-CD set. The package will feature more than 220 minutes and 38 bands, along with liner notes, photos and information about the annual German metal festival. Here is the complete track listing:

Disc 1:

01. ANTHRAX - "Indians"
02. ANTHRAX - "Only"
03. DESTRUCTION - "Nailed To The Cross"
04. CHILDREN OF BODOM - "Sixpounder"
05. CANNIBAL CORPSE - "Dormant Bodies Bursting"
06. MAYHEM - "Pargans Fears"
07. DEATH ANGEL - "Thicker Than Blood"
08. UNLEASHED - "To Asgaard We Fly"
09. ORPHANAGE - "Five Crystals"
10. EKTOMORF - "I Know Them"
11. EKTOMORF - "Destroy"
12. BAL-SAGOTH - "The Emperial Lexicon"
13. MNEMIC - "Ghost"
14. CATHEDRAL - "Stained Glass Horizon"
15. NEVERMORE - "Enemies Of Reality"

Disc 2: More...

Read more...  |  4 Comments - Discuss

Griffin Posts Video Footage Online

Norwegian metallers Griffin have uploaded video footage of the band in the studio working on their fourth full-length album, tentatively due this spring/summer via FaceFront Records. Check it out at this location.

The follow-up to last year's "No Holds Barred" is being recorded at Godt Selskap studios in Trondheim, Norway and will be mixed by Andy LaRoque (King Diamond) at his Los Angered Studio in Gothenborg, Sweden beginning on February 3. Demo samples of the new Griffin tracks "Building a Future", "Moment of Madness", "Premonition", "Recipe for Rage" and "Utopia" can be downloaded at this location.

"No Holds Barred" was recorded at Skansen Lydstudio in Trondheim, Norway under the co-production guidance of Children of Bodom frontman Alexi Laiho. In addition to co-producing the effort, Laiho laid down guest guitar and vocals on the CD.

0 Comments - Discuss

Communic, Arch Nemesis Confirmed For Karmoygeddon

Griffin, Communic and Arch Nemesis are among the bands confirmed for the Karmøygeddon Metal Festival 2005, a two-day event set to be held June 17-18, 2005 in Kopervik, Norway. Other groups scheduled to perform at the festival include Tommermenn, The Carburetors, Higland Glory, Thundra, Moonchild (tribute to Iron Maiden) and Sea of Dreams. More information is available at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

Griffin Cover Priest And Ozzy, MP3s For Download

Moonfog's Norweigan metal act GRIFFIN have posted two cover songs online, which will only be available online for the next 48 hours! The songs are of OZZY OSBOURNE's 'Crazy Train' and JUDAS PRIEST's 'Hell Bent For Leather'. You can download them here.

0 Comments - Discuss