"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1992
From: Singapore
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Rudra News

Below is our complete Rudra news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Displaying records 21 - 31 of 31 1 2 Last

Rudra Introduce New Guitarist

Singapore-based metallers, RUDRA, have issued the following update:

"It is with great pleasure that I am announcing the entry of our new guitarist, Vinod. He isn't someone new to Rudra or the Singaporean metal scene. Vinod has played in many bands before and has been known to us for almost 8 years. We are looking forward to writing the new album and touring with him." - Rudra bassist/vocalist Kathir.

Says Vinod, "It is truly an honour to be chosen and be part of Rudra, a pioneer metal band. The first extreme metal band I listened to that inspired me and made me believe it is possible for local Singaporeans to start a band and be successful. I've known the members for a while. And now being in the band, I'm excited to work with them. Thus looking forward to contribute my part in the upcoming albums."

2 Comments - Discuss

Rudra Parts Ways With Guitarist Selvam

Singapore based metal band Rudra has issued the following announcement about parting ways with their guitarist:

"Today is an emotional day for Rudra. It is with great pain that we are releasing this news that the band has decided to part ways with Selvam.

"We wish Selvam our best in his future endeavours. We are thankful to him for the good moments and for producing 4 memorable albums with us. Rudra is currently negotiating with a few guitarists who could possibly join us. It is a very stressful period for us right now as we are headlining the Tomahawk festival in about 3 weeks. Anyways, Rudra will not let anyone down."

0 Comments - Discuss

Rudra Streaming New Song "Amartasyaputra" Online

Singapore's Rudra are currently streaming online the track "Amartasyaputra," which is from their upcoming album "Brahmavidya: Transcendental I." The song can be heard in the media center at the Trinity Records website.

"Brahmavidya: Transcendental I" is set to be released in Europe on July 6th. A North American release date has not yet been announced.

1 Comment - Discuss

Rudra Posts Two New Songs Online

Two latest tracks from the upcoming album by Singaporean Vedic Metallers, Rudra has been posted on their Myspace player.

RUDRA's forthcoming album is the second installment of the "Brahmavidya" trilogy, which is set to be released on the 15th of April via Trinity Records, Hongkong.

1 Comment - Discuss

Rudra Releases New Album Details

Singapore based death metal band Rudra has issued the following update about their new album:

Wishing all of you an exciting and meaningful 2009. The band is pleased to announce the title of the forthcoming album. The album shall bear the name 'Brahmavidya: Transcendental I'. It shall feature fourteen tracks with a total running time of about 70 minutes, produced by Joshua G. Nair & Sean Loo.

However, the bad news is that the band had to prematurely terminate its relationship with Trinity Records Hong Kong. The band is currently shopping for a new label home or labels willing to secure territorial licenses. This setback may delay the release of the CD. More updates will be coming your way soon

Brahmavidya: Transcendental I's track listing:

1. Bhagavatpada Namaskara
2. Ravens of Paradise
3. Amrtasyaputra
4. Hymns from the Blazing Chariot
5. Meditations at Dawn
6. Advaitamrta
7. Natural Born Ignorance
8. Immortality Roars
9. Reversing the Currents
10. Venerable Opposites
11. Avidya Nivrtti
12. Not the Seen but the Seer
13. Adiguru Namastubhyam
14. Majestic Ashtavakra

1 Comment - Discuss

Rudra Completes Recording Of New Album

Singapore's long-running Vedic metallers Rudra have completed work on their forthcoming as-yet-untitled album, which according to that band will be the second installment in the "Brahmavidya" trilogy. The album will be mixed by Joshua and Sean of Black Isle Studios and mastered by the indomitable Alan Douches (Nile, Mastadon, Sepultura, every album ever). The band is aiming for a January 2009 release on Trinity Records Hong Kong. Known for their trailblazing approach to extreme metal (that of combining traditional classical Indian melodies with a potent blend of black metal, thrash and death), Rudra are already hard at work on their next album, the third and final chapter of the trilogy, and promise to deliver a "fusion Vedic metal rock" album.

0 Comments - Discuss

Rudra Sign to Trinity Records

Singaporean metallers RUDRA have inked a six-album deal with Hong Kong's Trinity Records. The group's first release for the label will be a reissue of their fourth album, "Brahmavidya: Primordial I" (the first part of a triology), which originally came out in 2005.

RUDRA is currently writing material for the second and third installments of the trilogy, planned for release in early 2008. The band will enter Blackisle Studios once again in July 2007 with producers Joshua Nair and Sean Loo.

Other RUDRA albums to be re-released by Trinity Records during 2007/2008:

* The re-recorded version of "Kurukshetra", RUDRA's third album, which has been out of print for a long time.
* RUDRA's debut album, "Rudra", which was originally released in 1998 on Candlelight Productions.
* "The Aryan Crusade", the group's second album which won them worldwide acclaim in 2001. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Rudra Part Ways With Guitarist

Singaporean metallers RUDRA have issued the following update:

"Kannan [guitar] has decided to part ways with RUDRA. He will be relocating to Australia and the band wishes him the best of luck in the future and a big thanks for his monumental contribution to RUDRA. However, the band hopes that his departure is temporary. The band is presently auditioning guitarists and will announce the replacement real soon."

RUDRA last year severed ties with Demonzend Records (a.k.a. Demonzend Enterprise), the label that issued the group's last album, "Brahmavidya: Primordial I", and re-released their debut CD.

RUDRA is currently seeking a new label home.

0 Comments - Discuss

Rudra Splits With Demonzend Records

Singaporean metallers RUDRA have severed ties with Demonzend Records (a.k.a. Demonzend Enterprise), the label that issued the group's last album, "Brahmavidya: Primordial I", and re-released their debut CD. With immediate effect, the copyright to both recordings will revert to the band.

RUDRA is currently seeking a new label home.

As previously reported, RUDRA will be doing three dates in the U.S. during the month of January. The details are as follows:

Jan. 20 - Heathen Crusade Metalfest II - The Quest - Minneapolis, MN
Jan. 21 - North 6th - Brooklyn, NY
Jan. 23 - Samba Club - Philadelphia, PA

0 Comments - Discuss

Rudra Announce US Tour Dates

Singapore's RUDRA have announced the following U.S. tour dates:

January 20 - St. Paul, MN @ Heathen Crusade Metalfest II
January 21 - Brooklyn, NY @ North Six (downstairs)
January 23 - Philadelpha, PA @ Samba Club

0 Comments - Discuss

Heathen Crusade 2 Announced

The second anual Heathen Crusade music festival has been announced. The festival will take place at the Quest Night Club in Minneapolis, MN on Saturday, January 20, 2007. The festival is an 18 and older event. Confirmed bands are as follows:

Dark Forest
Will of the Ancients
Hordes of Yore

More info and updates are available at the festival's website, http://www.heathencrusade.com/hc2/index2.htm

0 Comments - Discuss

Displaying records 21 - 31 of 31 1 2 Last