"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: CA, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Onward News

Below is our complete Onward news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Onward Vinyl Re-Releases Announced

The release date of Onward's vinyl edition of "Evermoving" has been set for March 28th, 2014. Pure Steel Records comments:

"In the course of our LP re-release series (limited to 500 hand-numbered copies), we are now planning to do the first two full-length-albums of Onward. The band was created in 2000 in Montana/USA by the later Crescent Shield singer Michael Grant (who died in 2012); they played at that time very untrendy classic US/Power Metal with some NWoBHM influences.

"At the beginning of 2001 they released their debut album 'Evermoving' via Century Media (only as CD). The eight Power-Metal delicacies could definitely convince fans of old genre-classics with their classic and sophisticated double guitar harmonies and epic and abundant song structures.

"The vocals are majestic and melodious, sometimes in higher pitches; and the peculiar sound makes them stick out of the masses (like some years later their compatriots Pharoah). The powerful and dynamic production by Denis Gulbey (e.g. Jack Starr, Manilla Road, Gothic Knights) lifts this LP definitely to the top class of their genre. The very detailed cover artwork was made by Ioannis Vassilopoulos, who has worked for Fates Warning, Dream Theater, and Deep Purple."

The track listing is as follows:

Side A
1. The Kindness Of Strangers
2 Onward
3. The Waterfall Enchantress
4. The Last Sunset

Side B
1. Absolution Mine
2. Witches Winter Eternal
3. Storm Coming Soon
4. The Lost Side Of The World More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Onward To Release Albums As Tribute To Singer

Montana metal act Onward has signed a licensing deal with Pure Steel Records to remaster and release the band's first two albums "Evermoving" (2001) and "Reawaken" (2002) on vinyl late summer/early fall. The albums featured Crescent Sheild vocalist Michael Grant (Ex-Cypher Seer/Ex-New Eden), who passed away last May.

Onward mastermind Toby Knapp commented on the releases, intended to be a monument to the the fallen singer: "Over a year ago I approached Pure Steel Records about releasing Onward's demo 'The Neverending Sun' on vinyl. Pure Steel had a much better idea; releasing Onward's first two albums 'Evermoving' and 'Reawaken' in limited edition gatefold vinyl, remastered and with completely new artwork. After negotiations began Onward vocalist Michael Grant passed away making these plans take on a more serious level of importance. After a decade since disbanding these re-issues represent the eternal life of music, of Heavy Metal carefully crafted with integrity and the magic of collaboration between those who believe. Many fans who have since discovered Onward's music say 'what happened?where did they go? they were so under-rated.' Our collaboration with Pure Steel records on the re-release of what many consider 'landmark' Heavy Metal albums is proof positive of what Onward conveyed during our years together; 'Evermoving Onward!' onto vinyl sounding better than ever." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Godless Rising To Cover Slayer On New Album

Ex-ONWARD guitarist Toby Knapp has issued the following update:

"As I've posted before I've licensed my last solo album Misanthropy Divine to Germany's Rock It Up Records for Europe (this updated version with bonus tracks will be available here in the US as well) I signed the contracts and shipped off the masters well over a month ago. I of course started getting very nervous after several weeks passed and they still had not arrived to Germany - to the point of absolute nervous breakdown and calling the U.S.P.S. and doing all that tracking shit (last night) and it seemed the box was lost enroute; the master discs, contracts, etc. Moments before the 'meltdown' I checked my email and a very welcome letter happened to be waiting from the label president Franko "I GOT THE PACKAGE!!!" So, now we can proceed and I'm sure the results will be worth the wait, this really isn't official news, just my musings over a real stressful several weeks. I will keep everyone interested on the release date of the album and the 2009 tour dates. Oh yes, GODLESS RISING's Trumpet Of Triumph is 99% done - hope we did justice to SLAYER's 'Kill Again'! This album will be out on Moribund Records in early 2009."

You can check out Godless Rising on their MySpace page.

6 Comments - Discuss

Former Onward Guitarist Parts Ways With Metabolic

Former ONWARD guitarist and solo instrumentalist Toby Knapp has parted ways with Metalbolic Records. The follow-up to Knapp's 2006 CD, "Polarizing Lines", is currently being considered by a yet-to-be-announced interested label. This album will still feature ex-INTO ETERNITY vocalist Dean Sternburg, but will mostly be comprised of unreleased instrumental material. Toby's other side projects, such as WAXEN, have also fulfilled their contract obligations with Metalbolic, and he is planning a follow-up LP for this black metal outing with another label.

0 Comments - Discuss

Guitarist Toby Knapp Abandons Onward Reunion Plans

Former ONWARD guitarist Toby Knapp has released the following statement via his MySpace page:

"I have decided out of respect to the members of the original ONWARD lineup not to resurrect this beast. I feel some new recruits' hearts are not in the right place, and perhaps ONWARD are just not brutal enough for 2008. Of course we all know this is bullshit, and it's a shame we will never know what could have been. ONWARD were not gay power-metalists, ONWARD were progressive heavy metal with no boundaries."

ONWARD officially split up in June 2003 following a parting-of-the-ways with their label, Century Media Records.

Knapp is currently working on a solo project with former INTO ETERNITY vocalist Dean Sternberg.

1 Comment - Discuss

Onward Announce New Lineup

Guitarist Toby Knapp has reassembled his band ONWARD with the following lineup:

Dean Sternberg (vocals)
Rob Luckie (bass)
Jeramy Matheson (drums)
Toby Knapp (guitar)

Commented Knapp: "We have no agenda for extensive touring, just a few gigs here and there and a strong new album. The recording/writing process is coming slowly but surely and I am putting no timeline on its completion or release date."

According to Knapp, a new ONWARD song will be released via his MySpace page in the next few days. "The track is a six-minute journey to hell entitled 'Rhinecliff Bridge'," he said. "I feel this finally showcases the influences I have been heavily soaking up this year: KING CRIMSON, THE POLICE, RUSH, LED ZEPPELIN and a distinct sound that also hearkens back to 'Reawaken'."

0 Comments - Discuss

Crescent Shield Sign With Cruz Del Sur Music

California's traditional melodic metal band CRESCENT SHIELD, which features which features the talents of former DESTINY'S END guitarist Dan DeLucie and former ONWARD vocalist Michael Grant, has inked a deal with Cruz Del Sur Music. The group's full-length debut, entitled "The Last of My Kind", will be released in late October.

CRESCENT SHIELD's lineup is completed by drummer Craig Anderson (ex-IGNITE, ENGINE) and bassist Melanie Sisneros (ex-NEW EDEN, THE IRON MAIDENS, SINERGY), two veterans of the Los Angeles music scene.

"The Last of My Kind" track listing:

01. Above Mere Mortals
02. Slaves to the Metal Horde
03. Rise of the Red Crescent Moon
04. Burn with Life
05. The Last of my Kind
06. North for the Winter
07. The Path Once Chosen
08. The Great Devoid
09. Unfinished Ashes
10. Await the Champion
11. The Passing

Check out audio samples at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss