"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1994
From: Bern, Switzerland
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Gurd News

Below is our complete Gurd news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

70,000 Tons Of Metal Adds To 2015 Lineup

Four more bands were announced today for the 2015 roster by UMC - promoters for the Original and World's Largest Cruise Festival, 70,000 Tons of Metal. On board at the last minute: Florida hardcore act Adaliah, Florida deathcore act Dark Sermon and Swiss groove act GurD and German thrashers Exumer.

70,000 Tons of Metal casts off tomorrow January 22, 2015 from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida with a stop at Ocho Rios, Jamaica and returns on Monday, January 26, 2015. The festival boards a new vessel, Liberty of the Seas (via Royal Caribbean), which will accommodate four stages. The All-Star Jam band will be back this coming January, which features members from the various acts aboard performing cover tunes live. There will also be two hot tubs on the pool deck stage.

All the information on the festival can be found at 70000tons.com.

Metal Underground.com has its team on the scene and will report on all the events in the coming days. Stay tuned.

The roster lineup is as follows, with only 2 more left to be announced:

Abandon Hope
Annihilator (featuring Coburn Pharr performing songs from "Never, Neverland")
Arch Enemy
Blind Guardian
Cannibal Corpse
Claim the Throne
Crucified Barbara
Dark Sermon
Divided Multitude
Gama Bomb More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Releasing New Album

Swiss metal outfit Gurd is gearing up to drop new album "Fake" on November 21st, 2014. This latest release follows the 2011 album "Never Fail."

Today you can also hear the title track to "Fake" through the lyric clip available below. The full track listing is as follows:

1. Fake
2. Hagridden
3. White Death
4. Wiped from the Earth
5. Go for It
6. Last Hooray
7. Hunter of Dreams
8. Near Miss
9. Bong, Bong
10. Neglected
11. Liquid Vision
12. Strike 'Em Down
13. Hateful

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Posts New Music Video

Swiss thrash metal act Gurd posted a new video for the song "Terminate" from the new LP "Never Fail." The album is set to drop on October 28, 2011 through NoiseArt Records.

Check out the video here:

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Reveals New Album Details

Swiss thrash metal act Gurd have revealed details behind its forthcoming new album. The new full length, titled "Never Fail," is set to be released on October 28 through NoiseArt Records. You can check out the track listing for the effort below.

1. Never Fail
2. Terminate
3. Burn Yourself
4. Rising From The Ashes
5. A Higher Meaning
6. The Truth Will Leak
7. Blame Someone Else
8. No Sleep For The Damned (Grapes Of Wrath)
9. Secret Underground
10. Velvet Apocalypse

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Announce More Dates

GURD, the Swiss band formed out of the ashes of the power-thrash metal legends POLTERGEIST, has scheduled the following dates:

Feb. 22 - AT - Wien Viper-Room
Mar. 28 - CH - Basel B-Scene-Hirscheneck
Apr. 19 - CH - Martigny Sunset-Bar
May 17 - CH - Aarau Wenk
Aug. 16 - D - Emlichheim Cat-rock Festival
Sep. 27 - CH - Chur Kulturhaus

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd To Open For Prong In Switzerland

GURD, the Swiss band formed out of the ashes of the power-thrash metal legends POLTERGEIST, has scheduled the following dates:

Jan. 12 – Pratteln, Switzerland @ Z7 (w/ PRONG)
Apr. 19 - Martigny, Switzerland @ Sunset Bar
Aug. 16 - Emlichheim, Germany @ Cat-Rock Festival

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Post 'Bang' Video Online

Swiss thrashers GURD have issued the following update:

"The shooting and all further work for the Bang! video clip is done. The result is a real funny metal-clip with some cool surprising scenes. You can watch the clip here. In a few days we'll hit the road for our European tour as main support act for PRO-PAIN. We're looking forward to seeing all of you so we can have a cool kick ass metal party!"

Upcoming Pro-Pain/Gurd live dates include:

25 - Munich, Germany at Metropolis
26 - Aarau, Switzerland at Kiff
27 - Erstfeld, Switzerland at Transylvania Live
28 - Flawil, Switzerland at Tonhalle (without Pro-Pain)
29 - Saarbrücken, Germany at Roxy
30 - Freiburg, Germany at Cafe Atlantik

1 - Stuttgart, Germany at Röhre
2 - Koblenz, Germany at Suppkultur
3 - Essen, Germany at Turock
4 - Sneek, Holland at Bolwerk
5 - Amersfoort, Holland at De Kelder
6 - Vosselaar, Belgium at Biebob

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Shooting New Video

Swiss thrashers GURD have issued the following update:
"At the moment, we’re about to shoot a videoclip for the title-track of our current album Bang! A comic-style fun video, in which we freak around in a virtual world. A few impressions of the shooting in the Bluebox can be seen in the Pics section. As soon as the video is finished you can see it here… Watch out!!"

0 Comments - Discuss

Gurd Sign With Dockyard 1

Switzerland's GURD, the band formed out of the ashes of the power-thrash metal legends POLTERGEIST, have inked a deal with the German label Dockyard 1. The recently completed work on their eighth album, "Bang!" (cover), at the Little Creek studio for a July 28 release. A full-length MP3 of the album's title cut is available for download here.

1 Comment - Discuss

New Gurd Album Samples Available Online

Switzerland's GURD, the band formed out of the ashes of the power-thrash metal legends POLTERGEIST, are currently busy in their Little Creek studio working on their eighth album, entitled "Bang!". The recordings are almost done and mainman V.O. will start mixing the effort during the coming days. Rough-mix versions of the tracks "The Grand Deception" and the projected title track, "Bang!", are available for listening at Gurd.net. A late spring release is expected.

Upcoming GURD shows:

Mar. 25 - Böröm P.P., SWI @ Oberentfelden Rock vs. Cancer
Apr. 22 – Auggen, GER @ Sternen

0 Comments - Discuss