"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1992
From: Munich, Germany
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Darkseed News

Below is our complete Darkseed news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

Darkseed Reveals "Best Of" Album Details

Darkseed's upcoming best of, entitled "Astral Darkness Awaits," will feature 14 tracks including two bonus songs, which were only available on the limited edition of the physical version of "Poison Awaits."

The complete tracklisting looks like this:

1. Incinerate
2. Black Throne
3. No Promise In The Heavens
4. King In The Sun
5. Disbeliever
6. My Burden
7. Ultimate Darkness
8. Sleep Sleep Sweetheart
9. Dying Land
10. Flying Into The Night
11. Can't Explain
12. Souls Unite
13. The Demon Within
14. Comptine D'un Autre Été: L'après Midi

"Astral Darkness Awaits" will be available on iTunes, Amazon MP3, Musicload other digital music stores only on May 4th, 2012. The cover artwork can be viewed at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Announces New Vocalist

German gothic metal band Darkseed announced the addition of new frontman and vocalist Mike Schmutzer, who replaces the recently departed Harald Winkler. At this point, the band has not issued any statement as to why Winkler left the band. The band's latest release "Poison Awaits" was released in July of 2012 through Massacre Records.

The band's current lineup is now:

Mike Schmutzer - vocals
Thomas Herrmann - guitar, recording, productions
Tom Gilcher - lead guitar
Michael Behnke - bass
Armin Dörfler - keyboards
Maurizio Guolo - drums

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Reveals New Album Artwork

Massacre Records has issued the following update about Darkseed revealing the artwork layout for the band's new album "Poison Awaits:"

"Just before releasing their brand new album 'Poison Awaits,' Germany's Gothic Metal pioneers Darkseed have updated their band website at this location. The new design shows the CD artwork and features band news, video clips, tour dates and much more. 'Poison Awaits' will be out July, 23rd on Massacre Records."

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Posts New Album Teaser Trailer

German metal act Darkseed is set to release the new album "Poison Awaits" on July 23rd, 2010 via Massacre Records. The band has now posted a video clip from the recording sessions, which can be viewed below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Streaming New Album Samples

German metal act Darkseed has announced the new album "Poison Awaits" will be released via Massacre Records on July 23rd, 2010. Samples of all the songs on the new album are also currently available for streaming via this location.

The "Poison Awaits" track listing is as follows:

1. Roads
2. Incinerate
3. Poison Awaits
4. Seeds Of Sorrow
5. All Is Vanity
6. Black Throne
7. A Dual Pact
8. Torn To Shatters
9. No Promise In The Heavens
10. Striving For Fire
11. Timeless Skies
12. King In The Sun

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Finishes New Album

Vocalist Harry Winkler of German metal act Darkseed has issued the following update about the band finishing a new album:

"Hi guys, we are really proud to announce that we have finished recording, mixing and mastering our new album Poison Awaits which will be released July 16 on Massacre Records. We are really happy with the album and can't wait till you guys get to hear it. Stay tuned for more exciting news, song teasers on Myspace, a new Myspace design, new shirts and much more!"

You can also check out sample Darskeed tracks at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

Helion Festival 2008 Lineup Announced

The lineup for the 2008 Helion Festival is taking shape as follows:


The festival takes place on October 4 in Germany. More information (in German) can be found on the official site.

2 Comments - Discuss

Metal Mind Prod. Signs Deal with Nuclear Blast

Metal Mind Productions has announced a multi licensing deal signed with Nuclear Blast Records for their interesting, valuable back-catalogue.

In the first half of 2008 Metal Mind Productions will re-issue nearly 70 albums from their deep archives. The selection of bands includes Brutallity, Control Denied, Darkseed, Disharmonic Orchestra, Gardenian, Horde, Hypocrisy, Impulse Manslaughter, Macabre, Mortification, Night In Gales, Slaughter, Warhammer or Winter to name a few. This is a must-have offer for fans of good music - re-issues of classic material in new digipak editions, each title limited to 2000 copies, digitally remastered using 24-Bit process. The albums will include additional features like bonus audio or video material, biography, liner notes from Artists etc.

Tomasz Dziubinski, the President of Metal Mind Productions: "We are very proud to have finalized the deal with Nuclear Blast. It is a huge distinction for Metal Mind Productions that such a fantastic label wanted to start co-operating with us. We expect that we will achieve great sales results as we want to make re-releases of the highest quality: classic albums in new, improved editions. We want to achieve the best results possible. We do hope that our cooperation with Nuclear Blast will develop very well and fans can expect more and more interesting albums to be re-released."

Among first titles to be re-issued as part of this deal are eight Mortification albums, Control Denied and Macabre.

0 Comments - Discuss

Spiritual To Release MCD This January

SPIRITUAL, the new "ethnic-influenced" metal project formed by DARKSEED vocalist and songwriter Stefan Hertrich (ex-BETRAY MY SECRETS), have posted audio samples and a video clip at their official web site. The group's first release, a mini-CD entitled "Pulse", features guest musicians from bands such as HAGGARD, EQUILIBRIUM, MEGAHERZ and Yana Veva of the Russian band THEODOR BASTARD. The "Pulse" video was shot by the Russian video team Deviant Creations.

"Pulse" will be released in Russia by CD Maximum in early January. The complete track listing is as follows:

01. The Battle is Yours
02. Symphny of Life
03. Nahash
04. Pulse
05. Save and Heal
06. Nowhereness

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Samples Available Online

German Gothic metallers DARKSEED have released their sixth album, "Ultimate Darkness", through Massacre Records. The album comes with a free bonus disc featuring 13 unreleased tracks recorded between 1996 - 2005. Samples from the album are currently available at the band’s official website.

Also, if you want a signed limited edition of "Ultimate Darkness", check out the new Darkseed shop at ebay ( site in German). They offer a "buy it now" option, so the prices are quite affordable.

0 Comments - Discuss

Darkseed Finish Recording New Album

German Gothic metallers DARKSEED have completed work on their new album, "Ultimate Darkness", due early next year through Massacre Records. You can view the lyrics and listen to some samples in the Releases Section of their official website. The artwork is also available at the same location.

"Ultimate Darkness" features the following tracks: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss